Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

jbprincipato
Topic Author

Streaming protected audio files

Mon Jan 02, 2006 7:39 pm

I just got an Hd1000 and have been scanning the forum posts for all the features and funtions available on the HD1000. So far I have upgraded the O/S to 2.0.34, installed mplay, rokuslim, and the slimserver. I have been please at all the technical help available.

I would like to stream playlists from my Yahoo music account to the HD1000 but when the Rokuslim sees the files on the slimserver they are listed as protected. I installed the Microsoft Wma software and it appeared to license the HD1000 based on the mac address but I still get the same error. Any suggestions? I am new to the whole multimedia environment and Unix so please keep it simple.

Thanks

TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **

Re: Streaming protected audio files

Tue Jan 03, 2006 7:33 am

jbprincipato wrote:
I just got an Hd1000 and have been scanning the forum posts for all the features and funtions available on the HD1000. So far I have upgraded the O/S to 2.0.34, installed mplay, rokuslim, and the slimserver. I have been please at all the technical help available.

I would like to stream playlists from my Yahoo music account to the HD1000 but when the Rokuslim sees the files on the slimserver they are listed as protected. I installed the Microsoft Wma software and it appeared to license the HD1000 based on the mac address but I still get the same error. Any suggestions? I am new to the whole multimedia environment and Unix so please keep it simple.

Thanks

If the files are DRM encoded (which I believe Yahoo! music downloads are), SlimServer cannot stream them. I'm afraid there's no way that I'm aware of to get them to play through SlimRoku. You may, however, be able to play them via Sonata/Listen if you use Window Media Connect UPnP server.

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev