Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
casman
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 4:34 pm

Another new user connection issue!!!

Thu Feb 16, 2006 11:52 am

Hi
Got my PB installed and running fine
I do have a problem, in that when i shut down the server on an evening, when i restart next day my PB will not work until i reboot.
The shares show up most of the time but will not allow you to browse or execute a program until rebooting .

Things tried so far:
1.Assigned static IP.
2.Enabled messenger service on Server.
3.Upgraded to 2.036 software ( started on 2.034 had same issues)


I have Win xp Pro (SP2)
Netgear DG834G Router
I have a hard wired network to PB
PB REV.B
No swap file.

One question: it is possible to put a network address reservation into the router , i was wandering if this would help even the PB has a static address anyway.?


Any suggestions would be welcomed?
 
soiaf
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 5:19 am

Re: Another new user connection issue!!!

Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:53 pm

Are you trying to use the shares on your server from your PhotoBridge as soon as you've switched on the server?
The PhotoBridge checks for its shares every ten minutes so I have found that you have to leave your computer on for a few minutes before trying to access any shares.
 
casman
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 4:34 pm

Fri Feb 17, 2006 10:49 am

Soiaf

Thanks for the reply,tried what you said, no luck!

I tried leaving the server on over night ,next morning the shares were all there but do not work.
a rescan allows the photo viewer to work but music playback does not work until a reboot!

this is bad i could have lived with leaving the server on but no point if areboot is still required.

I must be missing something ?
 
davwebb
Posts: 352
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:47 am

Connection issue

Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:47 pm

Is the static IP address assigned to the PB outside of range of those automatically assigned by the router. For instance, my router will try to assign devices to 192.168.1.1 through 192.168.1.25 through DHCP, so I set the static IP to 192.168.1.26 (or higher)
 
casman
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 4:34 pm

Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:12 am

Hi
Yes i have my IP address out of the range. assigned for DHCP by the router.
My roku sitson 192.168.0.200
My router gateway is 192.168.0.1
and the allowed address range is 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.70

I have though discovered that if i go into network settings and simply press save my shares will come back and all is well.

I don't know if this is progress or not? as it is arguably easier to just reboot !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest