Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
dj7675
Topic Author
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:48 pm

Connect Roku to Internet through proxy?

Wed Apr 12, 2006 10:15 pm

Hopefully someone can help. I had bee using a windows 2000 running internet connection sharing on dialup and the roku's I have could all connect to the internet fine. (They are on static ip thanks to forum members). The windows 2000 pc died and had to replace it with a pc with windows xp home on it and couldn't get internet conneciton sharing to work properly, so I downloaded a proxy program and it is working very well for all of the pc's. The roku's do not connect to the internet however. The proxy app sets the port to 808 I believe. Is it possible to set configure the roku to connect to a proxy server? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Darin
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:43 am

Have you confirmed all your pc's and roku's are still in the same subnet? do the pc's work with XP ICS and just the roku's don't, or does nothing work with XP ICS? You may need to open up XP's built-in firewall in addition to setting up XP's ICS???
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
dj7675
Topic Author
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:48 pm

Thu Apr 13, 2006 8:05 am

Yes, all are on 255.255.255.0 subnet I believe. I couldn't get XP Home CIS to work like I could windows 2000 (which worked perfectly for several years". Funny thing is the dial up pc would dial and connect, but the pc's/roku could not access the internet through it. So instead of beating my head against the wall, I downloaded a proxy app (I think it was called CCproxy). It works perfectly with all of the PC's in the house, but the roku's can't access the interenet now. On each PC, I had to set them to point to the proxy server which I have set on 192.168.0.1 and the port to 808. Once that was set on each PC they all worked perfectly. I just don't know if it is possible for the roku to be configured in this way. I see that I can set what port to set the proxy server to use if that needs to be changed. Hope that makes sense. As a side note, I sure hate XP Home. Seems I can't ever get it to do what I want.

Darin
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:03 pm

I would check two things:
1. what gateway IP address is in your static IP config on the roku?
2. what nameserver is listed in /etc/resolv.cong on the Roku?

either one being incorrect (since you're using static) would prevent the Roku from getting out.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
dj7675
Topic Author
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:48 pm

Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:10 pm

The gateway address on the Roku is 192.168.0.1. This is what was needed when I had ICS configured and working. Regarding #2, how do I do that....do I need to telnet into the roku? Thanks again.

Darin
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Apr 13, 2006 7:43 pm

dj7675 wrote:
do I need to telnet into the roku?

Yes.

/etc/resolv.conf sets up where the roku goes for DNS lookups. You'd have to manually specify a valid DNS entry sine you are running static IP. But if it was working before, ???

the rest of the static ip parameters are in
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

Have you tried turning off XP's built-in firewall? In theory, when you configure ICS in XP, it adjust the firewall settings for you. But using this other proxy program, I couldn't tell ya what does or doesn't need to be adjusted in the firewall.

Does the Roku see your local PC's? I.E. can you play music or video or pictures that reside on another PC on your LAN?
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
dj7675
Topic Author
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:48 pm

Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:53 pm

Thanks for you ideas. Your thought of it working before made me give the xp ics another shot. And like all other things windows...this time worked just fine. Not sure what I did differently but all laptops and rokus with static ip are working as before. Thanks again.

Darin
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Sat Apr 15, 2006 8:05 pm

dj7675 wrote:
Thanks for you ideas. Your thought of it working before made me give the xp ics another shot. And like all other things windows...this time worked just fine. Not sure what I did differently but all laptops and rokus with static ip are working as before. Thanks again.

Darin

Hope it STAYS that way!
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests