Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Rammer47
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

HELP - Unable to see shares

Mon May 15, 2006 7:56 am

What am I missing?
HD1000 software V 1.5.18
Windows XP Prof SP2
LInksys Router WRT54G V. 2 hard wired with CAT-5e
Linksys Modem BEFCMU10 v. 3.0

Light is on at the ethernet jack on the back of the HD1000
[my laptop sees the Internet when connected to the same cable]
When I view the setup screen for the HD1000 it states
"IP 192.168.1.103"
When I attempt to "Find New Shares" under Network Setup I get the message "no network servers found"
I can ping the above ip address from my desktop
C:\>ping 192.168.1.103

Pinging 192.168.1.103 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.103: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.1.103: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.1.103: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255
Reply from 192.168.1.103: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=255

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.103:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

The Router is set to "automatic configure DHCP"

Results of:
C:\>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : windows-8ix5q5j
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : ri.cox.net

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : ri.cox.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 3Com EtherLink XL 10/100 PCI TX NIC
(3C905B-TX)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-01-02-C9-D3-E2
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.104
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.105
68.9.16.30
68.9.16.25
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

I have read over the "Network Issues and Solutions" from ROKU but
am not coming up with the solution.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: HELP - Unable to see shares

Mon May 15, 2006 8:05 am

Rammer47 wrote:
What am I missing?
HD1000 software V 1.5.18
.
.
.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

My first suggestion would be to install the 2.0 beta firmware: http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5053

You'll find it MUCH more useful than 1.5, and probably 95% of the 3rd party applications available only work on the 2.0 firmware. If, after updating, you still have problems with finding your shares, we can go from there.

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Mon May 15, 2006 8:20 am

And after upgrading the PB's firmware, check your WinXP Firewall settings. I'm not very familiar with it myself, but there must be a way within it to "trust" a specific IP (your PB's IP address).

Is this your first time setting this up, or did this just start being a problem recently on a setup that WAS working before?
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
Rammer47
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Upgraded but still no shares

Mon May 15, 2006 10:05 am

I have upgraded to V. 2.0.36 and the new screen gives me more options.
In ZoneAlarm firewall I have placed the IP address on the hd1000 screen in the "trusted" zone. WindowsXP firewall is disabled.
I still get "No network server found" when I attempt to find new shares.
When manually setting up shares on the setup screen, what information is needed in the following fields:
COMPUTER
SHARE
USERNAME
PASSWORD
Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Upgraded but still no shares

Mon May 15, 2006 10:30 am

Rammer47 wrote:
I have upgraded to V. 2.0.36 and the new screen gives me more options.
In ZoneAlarm firewall I have placed the IP address on the hd1000 screen in the "trusted" zone. WindowsXP firewall is disabled.
I still get "No network server found" when I attempt to find new shares.
When manually setting up shares on the setup screen, what information is needed in the following fields:
COMPUTER
SHARE
USERNAME
PASSWORD
Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Computer is the name of the computer hosting the share.
Share is the actual name of the share.
Username/Password are the credentials necessary to connect to that share (if any).

Have you actually set up any shares on your computer? You may want to refer to the sharing documents here for help with that: http://www.rokulabs.com/support/mediasharing.php

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
Rammer47
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 3:14 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Shares

Mon May 15, 2006 11:17 am

Yes, I had read and followed those directions and established shared folders.
I checked it again and they are set up.
You wrote: "Computer is the name of the computer hosting the share."
Under "System Properties" tab as well as ipconfig, my computers name is: "windows-8ix5q5j"
Is this the correct entry?
You wrote: "Share is the actual name of the share"
Under "Shared Documents Properties" my "Share name:" is "SharedDocs"
Is this what I put or do I list the path to the share such as C:\Documentsand settings\All users\ etc.?
I don't believe I have a Username/Password set
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Shares

Mon May 15, 2006 11:36 am

Rammer47 wrote:
Yes, I had read and followed those directions and established shared folders.
I checked it again and they are set up.
You wrote: "Computer is the name of the computer hosting the share."
Under "System Properties" tab as well as ipconfig, my computers name is: "windows-8ix5q5j"
Is this the correct entry?
You wrote: "Share is the actual name of the share"
Under "Shared Documents Properties" my "Share name:" is "SharedDocs"
Is this what I put or do I list the path to the share such as C:\Documentsand settings\All users\ etc.?
I don't believe I have a Username/Password set

Correct. Use "windows-8ix5q5j" and "SharedDocs".

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
skifiend
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:33 pm

Tue May 16, 2006 7:23 am

I had the same problem and nearly gave up. Mine finally worked when I added an account on the Roku PB with the username\password for an account on my computer, and then manually added the share. I created a new limited account called "roku" on my XP computer and did not use my admin account to log in to the shares.

My steps:
1) Set up new account in WinXP called "roku" with a password of choice.
2) Enter this new account in to the Roku PB under Network Shares with the username specified as <computer name>\<username>. If you create a new account called "roku" as well, then you'd add an account to the PB with the username "windows-8ix5q5j\roku" (without the quotes, of course).
3) Look for new shares in the Roku. If your machine appears in the list, select it.
4) If the computer does not appear, manually add it:
a) Enter "windows-8ix5q5j" for machine name
b) The IP address of the WinXP machine should automatically show up. If it does not, enter it.
c) Re-enter your user-name ("windows-8ix5q5j\roku") & password here for this share.
d) Enter your share name ("SharedDocs" in your case) under share name.
5) After entering the share, try to select it. If you are able to select the just entered share, then you're set.

If you continue to have problems, try to eliminate all potential sources. One thing I did was to temporarily turn off all firewalls and then reboot my XP machine, and reboot the Roku. I also made sure that both the Roku & the PB were connected to the same router.

After the share was found, and everything worked, I started ZoneAlarm and verified that the share still appeared on the Roku PB. Then I added the network switch that I was using with the XP machine and verified again, and so on.
 
skifiend
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:33 pm

One more thing

Tue May 16, 2006 7:27 am

Also, I re-ran the Network Set-up wizard on WinXP and set the domain to be the default "MSHOME." It was previously set up as "HOME" and this had caused problems even with other machines on the network set to the "HOME" domain. Now with everything on the default "MSHOME," all file sharing works fine, including to the Roku.
 
skifiend
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:33 pm

And another thing

Tue May 16, 2006 7:53 am

I recommend setting the Roku to a Static IP. There is a script available at the Unofficial FAQ which makes it very easy. Scanning the forums will show that several network problems seem to go away after setting the Roku to a static IP.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest