Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

fluke
Topic Author

Please enable spambot countermeasures/reCaptcha!

Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:44 am

I believe this forum would benefit greatly from the reCaptcha plugin that ships with phpBB 3.2.

DBDukes

Re: Please enable spambot countermeasures/reCaptcha!

Sat Feb 02, 2019 9:55 am

fluke wrote:
I believe this forum would benefit greatly from the reCaptcha plugin that ships with phpBB 3.2.

Is this running 3.2? That's the latest version, right? I think this forum is on an older version. Not all plugins are backward compatible. I've been visiting the forums since 2011, when 3.0 was the current release (it was released in 2007, and 3.1 was released in 2014). I don't recall any major updates to the forum, although I could've missed it. So, my guess is 3.0 (HTML page source doesn't indicate that I can tell).

But, yeah, something needs to be done.
DBDukes
http://TelevisionMyWay.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)

fluke
Topic Author

Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:41 am

I thought previous to phpBB 3.2 that PHP 7.1 wasn't supported.  Now that PHP 5 is beyond end of life, they really should be migrating everything to the latest version.

DBDukes

Sat Feb 02, 2019 10:59 am

fluke wrote:
I thought previous to phpBB 3.2 that PHP 7.1 wasn't supported.  Now that PHP 5 is beyond end of life, they really should be migrating everything to the latest version.

It would be great if they do upgrade, or otherwise implement suggestions such as what you mentioned. I'm uncertain how effecting anything will be regarding the one-offs that are posted. I'm not sure much of the spam is bots vs how much is grunt work by lower tier spammers. Whatever it is, I hope your suggestion helps, if they can deploy it.
DBDukes
Roku Ultra (4660)
Roku Premiere+ (3921)
Roku Stick (model 3600)

fluke
Topic Author

Sat Feb 02, 2019 6:17 pm