Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
riyatch
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:06 am

roku will not play large files.???

Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:18 am

i have ripped some movies and have renamed them with the mpg extension and they play just fine initially. the next day when i try to watch them again, after the roku has been shut off, the movies wil no longer play. i have to reboot everytime i want to try and watch a movie that was ripped as one large file. is there any way around this????????
 
Bgrubb1
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:13 am

long file problems

Thu Jan 20, 2005 2:37 pm

riyatch
When you have this problem, will the Roke play < 2g files still
Is your IP address still there ??
I have similar problems, but belive it is something in the program stream
..Barry
 
riyatch
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:06 am

Re: long file problems

Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:58 pm

Bgrubb1 wrote:
riyatch
When you have this problem, will the Roke play < 2g files still
Is your IP address still there ??
I have similar problems, but belive it is something in the program stream
..Barry



yes, i can still play smaller files like mp3's and my Ip address is still there.
This is becoming really frustrating any help from the ROKU team would be appreciated.
 
jimre

Fri Jan 21, 2005 8:35 am

What kind of server are you storing these files on? Hopefully not one with a FAT16 or FAT32 drive (files limited to 2GB & 4GB, respectively).
 
Bgrubb1
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:13 am

> 2 gig files

Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:10 pm

In my case, I have tried multiple shares, all on NTFS. If I run the files through DVDAuthorGUI to split them into < 2 gig files, it clocks the network stack and my IP drops requiring reboots. ANy other suggestions ??
..Barry
 
rodhew
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:13 pm

Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:28 pm

I've seen the same thing here. Leave it running and after some time, it'll see but not play any big files over the network.

Rebooting a couple times seems to fix this. Once apparently isn't enough.

Rod
 
Bgrubb1
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:13 am

Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:56 pm

Same here, usually requires 2 reboots to get back to normal. I have offered to send file to RokuDon that exaggerate the issue, have not heard back
 
riyatch
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:06 am

Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:33 pm

i have my files stored on a buffalo network hard drive. i can also see the files but when i try to play them it fails. i just need to reboot once so that i can play them again but after i shut off the roku for the day, the next day, they will not play again.
 
User avatar
RokuDon
Roku Engineering
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 8:54 pm
Location: Palo Alto
Contact:

Sat Jan 22, 2005 4:37 pm

Bgrubb1,

Sure send me the file. (Or a link to where I can download it).

I've not experienced this before and will attempt to reproduce.
-Don

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests