Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

mjl
Topic Author

Question about updates

Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:56 am

I'm new to this, so generally updates are monthly on a Friday? Usually by what time?

TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **

Re: Question about updates

Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:58 am

mjl wrote:
I'm new to this, so generally updates are monthly on a Friday? Usually by what time?

Noooooooooooo... generally updates are whenever they're ready. I think the friday thing of the past few updates has just been coincidence, not based on an actual schedule.

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)

Wulgaru

Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:52 pm

It's not uncommon for updates in the IT world to come out on Fridays, at the end of the month, etc. Those just make sense as target dates. However, TheEndless is correct in that the Roku updates come out on a relatively arbitrary and unpublished schedule when the developers feel that what they have been working on is ready for prime-time.

We should start a Beta release betting pool. That would make the wait more fun. :)

Gregavi

Fri Aug 05, 2005 6:13 pm

mjl wrote:

I assume you're joking. As you can clearly see from the
"PhotoBridge HD1000 2.0 Beta Announcement: **NEW** 17-Jun: Beta 2.0.34 + SDK now available"
that it has been about a month and a half since the last update. All I really care about is the re-implementation of “shuffle play” on the music player. I don't mind not getting new functions, but losing existing ones is unacceptable. There are many people that visit this forum who have been asking about this very thing and we have gotten no response from Roku.

TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **

Fri Aug 05, 2005 6:25 pm

Gregavi wrote: