Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
pgray
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:05 am
Location: Austin, TX

Help Mounting a dvd image via a smb share

Mon Aug 29, 2005 9:47 pm

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to ask this ....

I have a dvd image (.iso) on one of my smb shares that I want to mount on the roku. I want to be able to access some/all the files on the image. I've tried:

> mount -o loop -t iso9660 /mnt/smb/computerName/file.iso /mnt

error response:

mount: Could not find a spare loop device

Googling around it seems that this requires /dev/loop/0... which roku does have 0..7 actually. I used losetup on these and they all are undefined.

Anyone have any luck doing this?

Thanks
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:52 am

That'd be cool to be able to do, but in the few months I've been on these forum's I've never seen anyway state a way to successfully "mount" an image file and get at the content directly. All the solutions have been to extract the desired content out of the image into a sub-directory the PB can see.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
jabetcha
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:44 am
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Thu Sep 01, 2005 11:32 am

Using NeroDriveImage or something similar you can mount an image file as a drive on a Windows machine and share that drive.

The loopback device has to be built into the linux kernel for it to work on the PB.
 
simongales
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:59 pm

Mounting an image

Fri Apr 07, 2006 6:04 am

From the MountSDK.roku script, I'd say you need to use losetup first, then mount the loop device:

losetup /dev/loop/0 /mnt/flash1/rokudev.cramfs
mount /dev/loop/0 /usr/share/rokudev -o ro

In your case:

losetup /dev/loop/0 /mnt/smb/computerName/shareName/file.iso
mount /dev/loop/0 /mnt -o ro -t iso9660

I haven't tried this, but it matches how Roku mounts their rokudev.cramfs SDK image.

-Simon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest