Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
mgc
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:32 am

trouble installing from CF card

Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:39 am

Very basic question. I am trying to install the new beta. When I try to download the file, a new window pops up with lots of bizarre characters. So instead I "save link to file." That seemed to work. I now have the file on my desktop named: formatup.rok. Good so far. I took my CF card and copied the file onto it. (not into any folder, simply dropped it into the card.) I put the card in the HD1000 and unplug and replug. When it reboots I get to the same old main window showing my server and the CF card. When I select the card it says "there is no readable information (or something like that.)" What am I doing wrong? Thanks.
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

Same problem here

Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:16 am

I had the same problem.
It seemed to corrupt the cards too.

I tried two.

A 1GB Transcend & 512MB Transcend.

No Go on both.

I'm considering a newer 1 or 2GB Sandisk or an actual CF microdrive.
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

Still having trouble

Wed Nov 02, 2005 7:58 am

I thought maybe the size of the card is an issue.
I remember doing a firmware upgrade when I first got my unit.
at that time I had a 64MB card. The upgrade worked. (I no longer have that card and my smallest card is 8MB)

Lately I've been trying to do an upgrade and there seems to be an issue with the compact flash.

When I put one in the unit, it seems to get corrupted.
So far I've tried the following.

1GB Transcend (Hd1000 seemed to destroy the data)
512MB Transcend (just a few pictures and the HD1000 could not see them??)
256MB Dane Electronics. (again, HD1000 seemed to alter the data ?)


Someone mentioned in prior posts to only use SANDISK compact flash cards.

So I went out yesterday and purchased a brand new 1GB Sandisk card.

I'm still having the same trouble with it.

When I mount the card with the formatup.rok file, it seems to get altered to formadu@.rok

Anyone have an idea what's going on?
How should these cards be formatted?

I've tried, FAT, FAT32/VFAT even EXT2.

I tried copying the files from Windows 2000, my laptop with a PCMCIA adapter and my Linux machine with a USB adapter.
I even tried mounting the flash card on the Roku Read/Write and copying the formatup.rok file from the SMB share.

At some point a test with the 1GB card rendered it unusable on Windows.
I had to resort to Linux to recreate the partition.
(Does anyone have the exact partition ID in linux that is known to work?)

Frankly, this worked in the past before I had to RMA the unit from the power supply failure.

Here's a screen capture of the odd behaviour.




# df
Filesystem           1k-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mtdblock/2           3408      3196       212  94% /mnt/flash0
tmpfs                     1024         4      1020   0% /tmp
tmpfs                      500        24       476   5% /var
tmpfs                      100         0       100   0% /mnt/smb
//gatekeeper/music    97677312  43405312  54272000  44% /mnt/smb/gatekeeper/music
//hercules/multimedia   2015808    393792   1622016  20% /mnt/smb/hercules/multimedia
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1   1000640     15216    985424   2% /mnt/flash1

# mount -o remount,rw /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/flash1
# cp /mnt/smb/hercules/multimedia/Apps/format.rok /mnt/flash1
# cd /mnt/flash1
# ls -l
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root     15581184 Nov  1 20:57 formatup.rok

# cd /
# sync
# umount /mnt/flash1
# df
Filesystem           1k-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mtdblock/2           3408      3196       212  94% /mnt/flash0
tmpfs                     1024         4      1020   0% /tmp
tmpfs                      500        24       476   5% /var
tmpfs                      100         0       100   0% /mnt/smb
//gatekeeper/music    97677312  43405312  54272000  44% /mnt/smb/gatekeeper/music
//hercules/multimedia   2015808    393792   1622016  20% /mnt/smb/hercules/multimedia


At this point I take the card out of the hd1000 and then reinsert it

# cd /mnt/flash1/
# ls -l
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root     15581184 Nov  1  1997 formadu@.rok


Notice how the name is altered.
All I did was insert the card.

# mount -o remount,rw /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/flash1 
# cd /mnt/flash1
# mv formadu\@.rok formatup.rok 
# ls -l
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root     15581184 Nov  1  1997 formatup.rok
# cd /
# sync
# mount -o remount,ro /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt/flash1
# cd /mnt/flash1
# ls -l
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root     15581184 Nov  1  1997 formatup.rok
#


So here we are, card is mounted and seems to be correct.
I reboot to do an upgrade.
It takes about 5 minutes, then it finally comes up.


rcotrone@hercules ~ $telnet hd1000
Trying 192.168.1.102...
Connected to hd1000.
Escape character is '^]'.

hd1000.cotrone.com login: root
# ls -l /mnt/flash1
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root     15581184 Nov  1  1997 formadu@.rok



I notice that the HD1000 renames or seems to rename everything on the cards. Even basic 8 character named files from my camera are unrecognizable.

I noticed in the beta forum there was a way to do a software upgrade without the compact flash.

This worked, I am now running 2.0.35, however, I still have this naming problem with the cards.

I'm pretty frustrated, it seems I bought this 1GB card for nothing.

FYI, I was running 1.5.18 now I am running 2.0.35.
Same situation in both versions


Ideas?
Roku? Any help here?
 
RokuDave

Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:45 pm

There were some bugs in the FAT filesystem implementation that we have in our kernel. These issues only show up when high-ASCII or non-ASCII characters are used, or when long filenames (longer than 8.3) are used. But you are using a filename which is exactly 8.3, and only includes ASCII characters. So the extended FAT records should not be needed. And, you tried multiple filesystems and got the same result? That is suprising.

Just now, I tried the same experiment with FAT-16 and FAT-32, both created on Windows XP Pro and on Linux. I was not able to see the same behavior you saw. Each time I copied the formatup.rok file onto the flash card, I was able to use that card to successfully update the HD1000, and each time, listing the flash contents on the HD1000 command line produced the expected results: formatup.rok appeared as normal.

I also used the same commands as you to mount the flash read/write on the HD1000 and copy the formatup.rok file from a network share to the flash card. Again, I was able to update fine and listing the flash card produced the expected formatup.rok filename.

If this were a CF card compatibility issue, I wouldn't expect the card to work at all. In any case, we should try to find a test case that I can reproduce here so that we can move forward on troubleshooting this problem.

Dave
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

I also tried...

Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:58 pm

I also tried unmounting ALL network shares.
Both from the command line and from the gui (by deselecting them).
(to alleviate the memory crunch)

The same thing happened.

Multiple cards.

256MB Dane
512MB Transcend
1GB Transcend
1GB Sandisk.

As far as long filenames.
Each card at one time or another had used long filenames.

Yet, I tried as FAT-12, FAT-16, FAT-32 and received the same results. (on newly formatted cards from windows and Linux)
Yep.... it's a lot of testing..

This worked one time before (before the power supply RMA) with a 64MB sandisk (of which I do not have any longer)

BTW, I also tried making a smaller 64MB partition on the larger cards to see if that would help, it did not.

I'll try with my 8MB card tonight and post my results.
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

The Plot Thickens

Mon Nov 07, 2005 6:09 pm

So here is my 8MB emergency boot flash.


# cd /mnt/flash1
# l s-l
ls: s-l: No such file or directory
# ls -l
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          203 May  4  1996 bood.mcg
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        93890 Apr 23  1999 command.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          408 May  4  1996 copibc.com
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root        68871 Apr 23  1999 dbvcpace.bin
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          512 May  4  1996 dosbs.bcs
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        59820 Apr 23  1999 fdick.ehe
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        49575 Apr 23  1999 formad.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root       616109 May  4  1996 inidrd.img
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root       222390 Apr 23  1999 io.sis
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root         3740 May  5  1996 ldlinex.sis
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        28081 Feb 12  2000 loadlin.ehe
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root            9 Apr 23  1999 mcdos.sis
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        18967 Apr 23  1999 sis.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          122 May  4  1996 sislinuh.cfg
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root         9252 May  4  1996 sislinuh.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root      1108097 May  4  1996 vmlinez
#


Here is what it looks like via a USB Key on my Kuro-Box.

root@KURO-BOX ~ $fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sdb: 1 heads, 16 sectors, 980 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16 * 512 bytes

   Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1             2       980      7832    6  FAT16

root@KURO-BOX ~ $mount -o ro /dev/sdb1 /mnt2/usbdisk2
root@KURO-BOX ~ $cd /mnt2/usbdisk2/
root@KURO-BOX /mnt2/usbdisk2 $ls -l
total 2258
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          203 May  4  2004 boot.msg
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        93890 Apr 23  1999 command.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          408 May  4  2004 copybs.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          512 May  4  2004 dosbs.bss
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root        68871 Apr 23  1999 drvspace.bin
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        63916 Apr 23  1999 fdisk.exe
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        49575 Apr 23  1999 format.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root       616109 May  4  2004 initrd.img
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root       222390 Apr 23  1999 io.sys
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root         7836 May  5  2004 ldlinux.sys
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        32177 Feb 12  2000 loadlin.exe
-r-xr-xr-x    1 root     root            9 Apr 23  1999 msdos.sys
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root        18967 Apr 23  1999 sys.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          122 May  4  2004 syslinux.cfg
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root         9252 May  4  2004 syslinux.com
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root      1108097 May  4  2004 vmlinuz


Did something happen to the slot ?
A wire fall off or something ?
Notice how it alters a specific set of characters here and there.
I bet there is some bit missing.

Dunno if this means anything, But I was an early adopter of this technology.
 
mgc
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:32 am

confusion

Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:24 pm

you guys are talking a different language. can somebody translate this stuff to english please. the original question was how do I install the new update from a CF card.
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

Sorry.

Mon Nov 07, 2005 9:40 pm

Sorry,
I guess I hijacked your thread when I started having trouble too.

The basic way.
Format the card as (FAT or FAT32).

Put the formatup.rok on the card.

Turn the unit off.
put the card in
turn the unit on.

It should take about 5-15 minutes.

Here are the instructions on the web site.
http://www.rokulabs.com/support/HD10002.0Beta.php


There was reference to erasing all your settings including the video designation.
Therefore you will have to re-adjust the video.
I actually timed it against the clock, when it did not upgrade in 45 minutes I figured it was hosed (and it was) so I pulled the card out and rebooted.


There was reference to another thread that you could upgrade the software over the network with an application.

See this thread.
http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1673
I'm not sure it applies in this respect.

Please wait for a response from Roku if this fits
 
RokuDave

Re: The Plot Thickens

Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:47 am

WeeboTech wrote:
-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          512 May  4  1996 dosbs.bcs

-rwxr-xr-x    1 root     root          512 May  4  2004 dosbs.bss

Notice how it alters a specific set of characters here and there. I bet there is some bit missing.

This is really strange. I can't imagine what is going on here. You are right that it alters a specific set of characters to a fixed set of other characters, which might indicate a codepage problem, BUT: look at the "dosbs.bss" file. Only one of the "s" characters gets transformed. And the transformed character is not strictly position dependent --- the "s" characters in the positions that don't get transformed in the "dosbs.bss" file DO get transformed in other filenames.

I'm at a total loss here. I suppose it could be a hardware problem. In any case, without being able to reproduce it here, I doubt I'll be much help. We can exchange it for you if you think that might solve your problem.

Dave
 
mgc
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:32 am

Tue Nov 08, 2005 12:05 pm

how do I format the card as FAT or FAT32?
I am using a macintosh.
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

Re: The Plot Thickens

Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:22 am

RokuDave wrote:
We can exchange it for you if you think that might solve your problem.
Dave


I'm sure this will help. I'm at wits end. This is only the 2nd time I'm using this slot.
I've tried 4 different cards and bought a brand new one one thinking it might be a compatibility issue.
I was able to upgrade via the network software-upgrade application.
So as far as it being an old module, that should have been resolved after the upgrade.
I wanted to get the compact flash working so I can create a swapfile and do some development (and run third party apps).

What's the next step?
(I do have ticket HD116482 through the support system)
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

Formatting FAT on a Mac

Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:26 am

mgc wrote:
how do I format the card as FAT or FAT32?
I am using a macintosh.


I'm sorry, I do not know.
I'm not mac literate.

I suppose you could format the card in your camera (if it's not formatted already, they usually are). There is still the issue of mounting it on the mac and getting the format.rok onto the card.

What about the software upgrade thead/link I provided earlier in this thread? I was able to upgrade using that.
 
chackett
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Wallingford, CT

Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:02 am

There are also instructions in a thread somewhere here on the forums that describes how to telnet into your Roku and work with the flash card over the network. I used them to copy the upgrade file from my mac to a flash card in the Roku, as I don't have a card reader. Worked like a charm to get me started on the beta firmware.
 
WeeboTech
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:48 am

Updating the compact flash card via telnet on the HD1000

Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:11 pm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests