Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
blacksnake
Topic Author
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 10:14 am

Roku keeps losing connection to share-drive

Sun Mar 05, 2006 2:10 pm

Does anyone have problem of Roku keeps losing connection to the share-drive using lastest beta?
This is very annoying. My unit loses connection 10mins or so after fresh reboost.
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:00 am

Many such reports under varying circumstances.
Try using the search and you'll find a lot of info on this topic.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
dj7675
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 6:48 pm

Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:50 am

I had the same issue and when I changed to a static IP it fixed it. I have not lost any shares since I changed to a static IP. There is a great script to set a static IP that made the process extremely easy. Instructions are in the unofficial FAQ in the general section or at the link below.--Darin

http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6259
 
riyatch
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:06 am

Mon Mar 27, 2006 9:24 pm

i have the same problem. i looked at the link but dont know how to telnet the roku. can someone please tell me how to do this or point me a how to because im clueless about this.
thanks
 
chackett
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:37 pm
Location: Wallingford, CT

Tue Mar 28, 2006 5:02 am

riyatch wrote:
i have the same problem. i looked at the link but dont know how to telnet the roku. can someone please tell me how to do this or point me a how to because im clueless about this.
thanks

You have to find out the IP address of your PB (it's listed in the setup section; can't remember quite which module it was, but it's at the top of the screen. I believe it also shows on SlimRoku, if you have that installed.

Open a command shell (or dos window, or whatever) on your computer.
Type "telnet x.x.x.x" (the IP address of your PB).
Hit return until you see "Login"
Type "root" and hit return.
You're in.

I think there may be instructions (much better ones, I'm sure) in the unofficial FAQ that soiaf wrote.
Roku HD1000 Rev B
Pioneer Elite 50" Plasma
Artison Portrait LCR
Polk 60ti L, R, LR, RR
Velodyne DD-18 Subwoofer
Yamaha RX-V2500
Motorola DCT-6412
Home Theater Master MX-3000
 
riyatch
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:06 am

Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:05 am

thanks a lot. :D
ive been struggling with this problem for a long time and now i can do something about it. 8)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests