Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
pkeegan
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:36 am
Location: Denver

What success have people had with streaming ts files

Sat May 06, 2006 8:40 am

My photobridge died before I was able to test streaming ts files. I have
a MyHD 130 on a XP PC that I plan on using to capture HD OTA broadcasts for timeshifting.
Some people have reported that on other media units that if the ts file
is not a single large file that there are sound gaps when transitioning from
one file to the next. Does this happen with the photobridge, wired connection,
and PC? How about if you have a network attached drive instead of the PC, any issues? Any comments would be appreciated.
Thanks.
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: What success have people had with streaming ts files

Sat May 06, 2006 2:01 pm

pkeegan wrote:
Some people have reported that on other media units that if the ts file
is not a single large file that there are sound gaps when transitioning from
one file to the next. Does this happen with the photobridge, wired connection,
and PC?

This works fine using CinemaSix:
http://frequal.com/roku/CinemaSix/index.html

I use a wired connection to a PC. I believe other people have this working with NAS devices too, though I haven't tried it myself. Make sure the NAS device can stream at 20Mbps+ and supports SMB or NFS sharing protocols.

Is there any reason you want to split up the large .ts files? CinemaSix works with huge .ts files, I have tried it with up to 20GB files and it works well. It makes it easier to manage your files too, just delete one file to delete an entire saved TV show.

Full info on how to set up PC-based HD recording and playback are here:
http://frequal.com/pmn/MediaServer.html
http://frequal.com/pmn/TopComponents.html

-Andy
Andy Oliver
LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html
VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html
SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
pkeegan
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:36 am
Location: Denver

Sat May 06, 2006 6:09 pm

Thanks for your input Andy.
The only reason I would break up the files is if the photobridge didn't like
the size. Looks like that is not an issue.
Thanks
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: What success have people had with streaming ts files

Sun May 07, 2006 7:51 am

pkeegan wrote:
My photobridge died before I was able to test streaming ts files. I have
a MyHD 130 on a XP PC that I plan on using to capture HD OTA broadcasts for timeshifting.
Some people have reported that on other media units that if the ts file
is not a single large file that there are sound gaps when transitioning from
one file to the next. Does this happen with the photobridge, wired connection,
and PC? How about if you have a network attached drive instead of the PC, any issues? Any comments would be appreciated.
Thanks.

With the exception of OTA recordings that have had the commercials removed, I've had very good success playing both HD and SD TS files (both full and broken into parts) with MPlay. In the commercial edited streams, I'll often lose audio at the commercial breaks, but MPlay's Pause/Pause re-sync feature always restores it.

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
pkeegan
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 7:36 am
Location: Denver

Tue May 09, 2006 10:36 am

Thanks Andy & Endless.
 
KevinM
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:54 pm

Re: What success have people had with streaming ts files

Sun May 21, 2006 8:57 am

TheEndless wrote:
In the commercial edited streams, I'll often lose audio at the commercial breaks, but MPlay's Pause/Pause re-sync feature always restores it.

TheEndless


Yes, I still get this too. I wish I could work out how to fix it properly, but as you say, the pause/unpause re-syncs the stream.

I love my HD1000. Apart from the above problem it plays my .ts files perfectly, wired to my PC.

Kevin.
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Re: What success have people had with streaming ts files

Wed May 24, 2006 9:43 am

KevinM wrote:
Yes, I still get this too. I wish I could work out how to fix it properly, but as you say, the pause/unpause re-syncs the stream.

Have you tried mpeg2repair?
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)
Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV
Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's
PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext
M1000 (upstairs)
HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)
Visco 32" LCD
AR 2.1 audio system
PS/2
 
KevinM
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:54 pm

Thu May 25, 2006 4:54 am

No, I hadn't tried that. I am just trying it out on a file just now.

Thanks for the info.
Kevin.
 
KevinM
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:54 pm

Thu May 25, 2006 11:18 am

Unfortunately, that didn't work. It still requires me to pause/unpause at the commercial breaks.

Has anyone had success in repairing their .ts files using mpeg2repair so that they don't need to pause/unpause at breaks ?

Thanks,
Kevin.
 
dgburns
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:37 am

Thu May 25, 2006 3:02 pm

Another app to try might be HDTVtoMPEG2. It lets you do some minimalist editing/cutting of .ts streams. I have an app I found called FixTS, but I can't recall where I got it or played with it to see if it could fix.

You might check the ini options for mpeg2repair. There are some options that can be changed only by hand modification of the ini file.

Then there's the Canopus ProCoder route...an expensive proposition likely to allow you to fix this but onlyyou could decide if the fix is worth the cost.

Hoping others chime in with thoughts, I'm fresh out of ideas. Sorry.
HD-1500 RevB #1 (media room)

Mitsubishi WD-62528 62" LCD RPTV

Kenwood VR-407 receiver w/PSB Alpha's

PS/3 60GB (now 250GB) w/750GB Seagate ext

M1000 (upstairs)

HD-1000 RevB #2 (bedroom)

Visco 32" LCD

AR 2.1 audio system

PS/2
 
andy
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2004 7:54 pm
Contact:

Fri May 26, 2006 7:31 pm

KevinM wrote:
Unfortunately, that didn't work. It still requires me to pause/unpause at the commercial breaks.

Could you give CinemaSix a try? I would love to know if it helps or whether it needs a resync as well (Rotate button).

You can get CinemaSix here:
http://frequal.com/roku/CinemaSix/index.html
Andy Oliver

LiveSpy: Watch Live Webcams:http://frequal.com/LiveSpy/roku/index.html

VncSix: Web Surfing+:http://frequal.com/roku/VncSix/index.html

SongInfo:http://frequal.com/roku/SongInfo/index.html
 
KevinM
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:54 pm

Sun May 28, 2006 9:20 am

OK, tried out CinemaSix (latest version) and still the same problem with losing audio at commercial breaks.

Same thing happened on the MPEG2repaired file too.

Think I'll stick to MPlay for the moment, until I find a way to fix the problem at least.

Kevin.
 
Allez
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:47 pm

Wed May 31, 2006 12:18 pm

You might want to try VideoReDo. There is a free trial period.
 
KevinM
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:54 pm

Wed May 31, 2006 1:47 pm

Thanks Allez, I'll give it a try.

Does Videoredo re-render the .ts file ?

Cheers,
Kevin.
 
Allez
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 8:47 pm

Wed May 31, 2006 2:04 pm

KevinM wrote:
Thanks Allez, I'll give it a try.

Does Videoredo re-render the .ts file ?

Cheers,
Kevin.


There are a few things Videoredo can do - I've used its QuickStream Fix on .ts HD files to fix audio sync issues that have caused audio glitches (loss of audio etc) on my Roku. It goes through removing audio or video frames that are out of sync. You can also remove parts of your .ts files and stitch the remainder together; I've combined 2 imperfect recordings of the same thing to make 1 good one (no audio blip at the splice). It also has a commercial remover.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest