Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:57 pm

Operating Roku Player with Comcast Remote.

Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:00 pm

Hello everyone. I've taken my roku player home for the holidays to show off to my parents, who are considering buying one, as well as giving a few as big gifts this year for christmas. However, of course, I forgot the remote for the player. However my parents have a comcast remote that has a space for an "auxilary" device. It's the type where you program it with a manufactorer code. Does anyone know what the code is? Many thanks and happy thanksgiving!
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:15 am

Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:32 pm

I don't think you can. At least my Cox Cable remote doesn't work with it.
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:47 am

If you have an iphone or ipod touch

Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:39 pm

There are remote apps for the iphone or ipod touch if you have one.
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:40 pm

I checked the user manual for comcast and no code is listed for Roku (not really surprising.) Do you or anyone with you have an iphone? They have an app which will control the box that is free right now.

EDIT: cfaulkingham beat me to it :lol:
Last edited by madgoalie on Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:47 am

Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:41 pm

I was going to say it would probably be easy to write a desktop app real quick. However it looks like some already did.
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2005 7:31 am

Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:15 am

My Comcast remote has a learning mode for devices you can't find the remote code for.
Look in the user guide or the Comcast cast website.
I was able to use it to setup a speaker bar.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests