Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
spottedmahn
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:21 pm

Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:06 pm

Hello,

Is there a way to re-arrange the home screen?

Example, I want my CDNTwo channel to be first and then Pandora, etc.

Screen Print For Current
Roku Player Settings -> Channel Store -> Netflix - > Amazon -> FB Photos - > a few more channels -> Pandora -> about 6 or 7 more channels -> CDNTwo

Screen Print for Desired
Roku Player Settings -> Channel Store -> CDNTwo - > Pandora -> Amazon - Netflix, etc.
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:09 pm

spottedmahn wrote:
Hello,

Is there a way to re-arrange the home screen?

Example, I want my CDNTwo channel to be first and then Pandora, etc.

Screen Print For Current
Roku Player Settings -> Channel Store -> Netflix - > Amazon -> FB Photos - > a few more channels -> Pandora -> about 6 or 7 more channels -> CDNTwo

Screen Print for Desired
Roku Player Settings -> Channel Store -> CDNTwo - > Pandora -> Amazon - Netflix, etc.


Not at this time, sorry.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9194
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:58 pm

I think you can remove all of your channels and add them back in the order you want. Tedious, but it should work.
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
DeftOne
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:27 pm

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:00 pm

TheEndless wrote:
I think you can remove all of your channels and add them back in the order you want. Tedious, but it should work.

I don't think that will necessarily work, especially with private channels. It always seems like they get put in my list in some weird order when I add a new channel, anyway. It can't hurt to try, I guess.
Roku2 XS (13A166000325) HDMI to LG 42" LCD 1080p (42LH30)
Roku XDS (K0A073000137)
Netgear WNDR3400 (all Rokus wireless)
25 Mbps
 
samwyse
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:17 am

I, too, would love a way to rearrange my channels. Manually sorting them would be ok, but I'd really love it if Roku could track how often I watch things (I'd be willing to bet they do this already) and have a button in the settings page to do a one-time sort by frequency of use. I'd also like to organize my channels into folders or something, to reduce scrolling when I have more than a couple of screen's worth of stuff. Maybe something like the iPhone system.

DeftOne wrote:
TheEndless wrote:
I think you can remove all of your channels and add them back in the order you want. Tedious, but it should work.

I don't think that will necessarily work, especially with private channels. It always seems like they get put in my list in some weird order when I add a new channel, anyway. It can't hurt to try, I guess.

The trick to manually rearrange private channels is to delete them all, then add them one at a time and refresh your list after each addition. It's not just tedious, it's Super-tedious!
 
jcmolet
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:24 am

samwyse wrote:
I, too, would love a way to rearrange my channels. Manually sorting them would be ok, but I'd really love it if Roku could track how often I watch things (I'd be willing to bet they do this already) and have a button in the settings page to do a one-time sort by frequency of use. I'd also like to organize my channels into folders or something, to reduce scrolling when I have more than a couple of screen's worth of stuff. Maybe something like the iPhone system.

DeftOne wrote:
TheEndless wrote:
I think you can remove all of your channels and add them back in the order you want. Tedious, but it should work.

I don't think that will necessarily work, especially with private channels. It always seems like they get put in my list in some weird order when I add a new channel, anyway. It can't hurt to try, I guess.

The trick to manually rearrange private channels is to delete them all, then add them one at a time and refresh your list after each addition. It's not just tedious, it's Super-tedious!


You can change the order of the channels on the Home Screen by using the 'info' button on the enhanced remotes:

Image
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:26 am

Channels can be rearranged easily if you have the 12 button remote, using the * button while viewing the main menu.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
User avatar
KennyJ
Posts: 4051
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:35 pm

I haven't tried it, but I believe it's also possible with the iPhone/iPod remote.
 
jcmolet
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:44 pm

KennyJ wrote:
I haven't tried it, but I believe it's also possible with the iPhone/iPod remote.


It is. The DVPRemote for the iPad/iPhone/iPod has the exact some functionality - actually more - as the enhanced remote.
 
Ing5
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:11 pm
Location: US

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:32 pm

I use 'Remoku'. It's browser based, and the price is right - free!
http://apps4tv.com/remoku/
 
dandan14
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:20 am

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:28 pm

Ing5 wrote:
I use 'Remoku'. It's browser based, and the price is right - free!
http://apps4tv.com/remoku/


Wow! We have a standard remote and wanted to rearrange our channels. We just tried Remoku and it worked like a charm! Thanks for the tip.
 
vphares
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:12 am

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:38 pm

I tried using RoMote by Chris Konieczny on my Android phone but didn't find any option that would allow me to re-order my channels. Does anyone have a program that works with the Droids?
 
jhernes
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:02 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Re-Arrange Home Screen Channels, Can I?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:41 pm

vphares wrote:
I tried using RoMote by Chris Konieczny on my Android phone but didn't find any option that would allow me to re-order my channels. Does anyone have a program that works with the Droids?

Have you tried Remoku by Gonzo...
ROKU MODEL: N1000 - Decommissioned, HD 2000C-00 - Decommissioned, XS 3100R - Visio 50, R3 4200R - Samsung LN55

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests