Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

AlistairMould
Topic Author

Failing to connect to Firefly Server

Sun Jan 13, 2008 7:17 am

I am a novice to this, but have recently been given an M1001 and am generally pleased with it. Internet Radio works consistently, however, without changing firewall settings or moving or changing anything around I am frequently (more often than not) getting a "failed to connect to Firefly media server" message.

It is so random, that I can connect one moment, and then 5 minutes later it fails again.

Can anyone make any suggestions, of a not too technically involved nature - I been looking through other issues and there's some scary stuff out there !!

My router is apparently a D-Link DSL-G604T.

rpedde

Re: Failing to connect to Firefly Server

Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:56 pm

AlistairMould wrote:
I am a novice to this, but have recently been given an M1001 and am generally pleased with it. Internet Radio works consistently, however, without changing firewall settings or moving or changing anything around I am frequently (more often than not) getting a "failed to connect to Firefly media server" message.

It is so random, that I can connect one moment, and then 5 minutes later it fails again.

Can anyone make any suggestions, of a not too technically involved nature - I been looking through other issues and there's some scary stuff out there !!

My router is apparently a D-Link DSL-G604T.

Is this a wireless connection? And what kind of machine is the firefly server itself running on? Is it a windows machine? And which version of firefly is it?

I ask because there are lots of versions floating around, some with known problems.

danme

Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:18 pm

Just to let you know. I have experienced problems with the avahi-daemon resulting in problems connecting from SB to mt-daapd. I have seen this issue for a long time.