Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Rokme
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:02 pm

HDMI to VGA?

Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:06 pm

I'd like to connect the Roku via HDMI to VGA so I can use it with my old pc monitor. I know such cables exist, I'm just wondering if there's any reason this shouldn't work?

Thanks.
 
kumasuki
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Re: HDMI to VGA?

Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:45 pm

Rokme wrote:
I'd like to connect the Roku via HDMI to VGA so I can use it with my old pc monitor. I know such cables exist, I'm just wondering if there's any reason this shouldn't work?

Thanks.


You also need to consider the audio signal - if you are not concerned about 720p output you could use an S-video/VGA converter like this
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2
(probably the least expensive option)

If you do want HD resolution then a component/VGA adapter like
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... _-15158131
would be less expensive than an HDFury2.
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
 
petem
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:29 pm

Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:05 pm

The short answer is NO, you can't use a cable to adapt from HDMI to VGA. Such an adapter would require significant digital to analog video conversion horsepower. A few recent AV receivers will convert HDMI input to Component output, although I'm not sure if they'd handle the YCbCr to RGB colorspace conversion necessary to drive most VGA monitors.

If your monitor happens to support YCbCr colorspace on the VGA inputs (such as Panasonic professional plasma monitors) then you can simply drive a $5 Component to HD15 adapter cable using the Roku component outputs. Unfortunately most PC monitors support RGB colorspace only, and a component to VGA converter with colorspace conversion costs $60 or more.
 
kumasuki
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:45 pm
Location: San Diego

Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:18 pm

petem wrote:
The short answer is NO, you can't use a cable to adapt from HDMI to VGA.


Petem's more detailed explanation is why my suggestions are all converter devices. I can vouch that the HDFury2 does work fine (it's also the most expensive but I was using it for other reasons prior to getting my Roku).
--------------------------------------
Roku XDS; DSM-520; HDX1000 w/1TB drive; Neuros; Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR; HDHomeRun; Vudu; VuNow HD; Boxee Box
 
pjoshua5000
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:58 pm

Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:39 pm

Also Don't forget the hdcp. (copy protection)
 
Giljorak
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 4:14 am
Location: Colorado

Re: HDMI to VGA?

Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:56 pm

kumasuki wrote:
You also need to consider the audio signal - if you are not concerned about 720p output you could use an S-video/VGA converter like this
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2
(probably the least expensive option)



This item works very well. When my wife came home in a neck brace after having neck surgery in January, I used one of these to connect the Roku, DVD, BluRay, & Satellite Receiver to an LCD monitor that I mounted to the ceiling. The only downside was that the main TV or the surround sound amp had to be for the audio.
There are 11 kinds of people in the world, those that understand binary, those that don't, & those that think they do.

:shock: Proud member of America's most distrusted minority.:idea:
 
scyber
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:51 am

Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:15 am

Your cheapest option will be to use a component to VGA cable. Anything converting HDMI to vga will be more expensive b/c it would involve a digial to analog conversion.
 
Rokme
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 2:02 pm

Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:03 pm

Great-thanks guys I really appreciate it. I'll go the S-video route.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bluestar, joez7700, marcelo.cabral, trekkeriii and 2 guests