Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
bigkev2663
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:20 pm

Two Roku's, one house, one netflix account?

Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:26 pm

I have a netflix account and one Roku now, wirelessly in my house. My daughter loves this so much she wants one in her room. Can I get another Roku box in the house on one netflix account?
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:38 pm

I believe the number of boxes you can apply is proportional to the number of discs out at a time on your Netflix account. 3 out means three boxes, two out means two boxes one out means one box.
 
chamaeleon
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:46 pm

Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:18 am

The number of devices seem to be 6 at the moment. The number of disks out is supposedly controlling how many simultaneous streams you should be able to view.

The following is from "Your Netflix ready devices and computers" link on the Netflix account page.

You may watch instantly on up to 6 unique devices:
Including personal computers and Netflix ready devices. You may also use this page to manually de-register devices you no longer wish to use for watching instantly. A deactivated device can be reactivated later if you wish to resume using it.
Last edited by chamaeleon on Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
billc124

Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:39 am

I am sure this isn't officially supported, but I have the one disc at a time plan and have used Two Roku boxes at the same time without any issue. I didn't do it for long though, it was just to help a friend test his out.
 
DerFish
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:47 am

Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:48 pm

billc124 wrote:
I am sure this isn't officially supported, but I have the one disc at a time plan and have used Two Roku boxes at the same time without any issue. I didn't do it for long though, it was just to help a friend test his out.


Were you able to get 2 separate streams simultaneously? Thanks.
 
billc124

Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:35 pm

DerFish wrote:
billc124 wrote:
I am sure this isn't officially supported, but I have the one disc at a time plan and have used Two Roku boxes at the same time without any issue. I didn't do it for long though, it was just to help a friend test his out.


Were you able to get 2 separate streams simultaneously? Thanks.


Yes.
 
bigkev2663
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:20 pm

Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:22 pm

Seems to me like you can...I have three out at a time so I am going to order another box and see how it goes...Thanks everyone for your input!!!!! All you fathers have a nice day tomorrow!!!!
 
snarler
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:13 pm

Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:07 pm

From the T&C page....

"The number of personal computers or devices that can be used for simultaneous viewing varies according to your plan size: 1-disc plans may watch on one device at a time, 2-disc plans on up to two devices at the same time, 3-disc plans on up to three devices, and plans with four or more discs on up to four devices simultaneously."

For billc124, with one disc plan and ran two at the same time to test a friends out, did you sign his box up to your account or was it signed up for his account just on your network at the time?
 
billc124

Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:15 pm

snarler wrote:
From the T&C page....

"The number of personal computers or devices that can be used for simultaneous viewing varies according to your plan size: 1-disc plans may watch on one device at a time, 2-disc plans on up to two devices at the same time, 3-disc plans on up to three devices, and plans with four or more discs on up to four devices simultaneously."

For billc124, with one disc plan and ran two at the same time to test a friends out, did you sign his box up to your account or was it signed up for his account just on your network at the time?


I signed him up on my account, so both boxes were linked to my account at the same time and played two separate things from my queue at once. My box was at my house and his was at his house.
 
snarler
Posts: 431
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:13 pm

Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:04 pm

Hmmm...me thinks you snuck around their checking system for a brief moment :D Then again, could be any number of ways to do that depending on how often they check, when they check, what they check, etc. For example, if they only check when initiating a stream, and the check a flag operation paired with the set a flag if not already used operation isn't atomic, one could start both boxes at the same time on a stream and both would go through.

But that's for another day...
 
billc124

Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:07 pm

Yeah, I wouldn't do it on a regular basis, I was just pointing out that it was possible, not sure what they would/could do if they catch you.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: atc98092, trekkeriii and 2 guests