Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

 
jeebise23
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:27 pm

AWHAT INTERNET SPEED DO I NEED

Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:39 pm

hi guys i am a newbie but i am excited and i made up my mind on getting this system. the only worry i have is picture quality during the playback,currentley i have at&t dsl service and i have the entry lrvrl package that gives me a sped of up to 756kbs, i do however have the option of paying more and getting there best package which gives me a down load speed of up to 3.0. mbps, i just want the quality to be good as if io were to be watching a dvd what speeds r yiou guys using, as this is holding me up on purchasing this product i want to know what speed minum do u recommend and also yor experiences as far as video quality and at what speed r u streaming it in thank you john
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:40 pm

You will definitely need to upgrade your service.
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:47 pm

I have a 3meg DSL connection. I consistently get quality similar to DVD. If you want HD, you'll need about 6 megs. You won't be happy with your current speed.
 
jeebise23
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:27 pm

Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:11 pm

ok so i changed my package to the at&t pro which is 3.0 mbps so i should be good, also should i have it stream wirelessly or connect it directly to my computer and also i will be connecting my box via hdmi cable, any more feed back would be appreciated thank you john
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:20 pm

The box doesn't connect to your computer. It connects to your router. Mine's wired and has been rock solid for a year. Wireless works just fine for most users too.
 
RWatson
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:13 pm

Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:27 pm

In case it's not clear, you need a router. Both the ROKU and computer connect to the router, either wireless or by LAN cable (or several other ways available)
 
jeebise23
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 5:27 pm

Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:50 pm

thanks for feedback just want to know if any one else can share there dsl speed aND QUALITY OF PICTURE THANKS JOHN
 
keithandmissy
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:13 am

Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:55 am

I have Charter Cable and have their 5 Mbps package and use wireless. I get HD when available and 5.1 surround sound. No problems here.
 
mega1026
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Sun Aug 30, 2009 5:38 pm

i thought I read somewhere that the image quality tops out at 5 meg, then I read it was 3.8 meg, but I don't remember where I saw either of those stats...
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Sun Aug 30, 2009 8:02 pm

The fastest HD stream is 3.8 megs. variable.
http://blog.netflix.com/2008/11/encoding-for-streaming.html
 
patchman
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:21 pm

Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:15 am

Hi John,
I Have AT&T DSL Pro (Up to 3m down 512 up)...It works fine. Most movies/shows have a DVD quality. I have it wireless but also have used it wired both without a problem..Setup was a breeze.
 
mkiker2089
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:03 pm

Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:57 am

mega1026 wrote:
i thought I read somewhere that the image quality tops out at 5 meg, then I read it was 3.8 meg, but I don't remember where I saw either of those stats...


I think where you saw the 5 was on Roku's site. It says that 5 is where the quality tops out. That's leaving room for variable bitrate, internet issues, and buffering behind the scenes.
 
mega1026
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:06 am
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Mon Aug 31, 2009 9:22 am

so if I had a tv capable of getting 720p, would my 3 meg would be ok for HD?
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4234
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:34 am

3mb MIGHT be ok, but you'd be better with 5mb or better, for those times when your internet connection is lagging a bit.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:54 am

I force the 2.5meg HD streams and can almost always watch the whole film without rebuffering. That said though, I have really solid 3Mbps DSL service.
It's almost always between 2.9 amd 3.1Mbps to the Limelight servers. This may not be typical.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests