Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
chaninator
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:17 pm

Hey Folks,

A few weeks ago I found my SB M1001 (connectors on back...end caps not removable) "dark". I unplugged it and replugged it...no display...no red shining through the optical SPDIF. I was sad :(. I measured the voltage on the stock AC adapter and it showed as pretty close to 5V...I thought my unit was doomed...doubly sad.

I tried submitting a question on Roku's support form:
http://soundbridge.roku.com/support/contact_form.php

...and as we all know, this goes into a black hole due to the re-allocation of Roku resources. Luckily I came across this excellent forum and wanted to re-affirm Burkhardi's (and other's) comments that just because the adapter measures OK...it still may be failing under the load incurred by the SB. I plugged in an old iOmega Zip drive adapter (5V, 1A, postive at the tip) and my M1001 sprang to life. All is right in the world :). Now I'm off to source a suitable (> 2A unit according to the snooty alanmc from the UK...yes, I've read some of your posts and either your attitude stinks or you simply have many *bad* days while posting.).

Thanks all for the info (including alanmc)!
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:15 pm

Hey chaninator, welcome to the forums

So you don't want to volunteer as President of my fan-club . . . . well I'm sure I'll be able to handle that loss :lol:
You might care to read http://forums.rokulabs.com/viewtopic.php?t=22733 if you really do intend on getting a decent replacement. It's never too late to learn.
 
LovingRoku
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:21 am

Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:57 pm

I'm going to have to give this a try. A couple days ago I found my SB to be dead. Just measured the AC adapter and it appeared correct. I've tried the factory reset and that didn't help. I was just about ready to cry and toss, but found this so I'll give it one last ditch effort. Thanks for the post, it may help me yet.
 
LovingRoku
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:21 am

Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:17 pm

Hot Dog! You saved me from tossing it. I just tried the power supply from my router, which is 5v 3a, and the SoundBridge fired right up. I never would have guessed it after measuring the original AC adapter and getting 5v from it. Now I just have to find a replacement power supply.

Thanks again!!!!
 
alanmc
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:40 am
Location: Bedfordshire - U.K.

Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:35 pm

@ LovingRoku

For your M1001, if you want the best, use> PHIHONG Model # PSA15R-050P (5volt 3amp) –
a “Wall-Wartâ€
 
jcfreak61
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:49 pm

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Sat Sep 24, 2011 4:55 pm

:D Hey thanks guys you fixed another one! I used my old 5v 2.5a adapter from an old Cisco router I had laying around taking up space. Thanks for posting!
 
agolgath
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:59 am

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:20 am

Guys,
thanks for saving my Soundbridge from the trash! After reading this, I decided to try another AC adapter first before finally throwing them out. And you even saved two ;-)
I used a Voltcraft (Conrad's house brand # 51 83 71) with 5V and 1000 mA and both the display and my face lighted up.
Is 1000 mA enough or should I use a 1500 mA and does anyone have an explanation why these Soundbridges seem to be eating up AC adapters like crazy?

best regards
Andreas
2 x Soundbridge M1001
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Sat Nov 12, 2011 1:44 pm

Hi Andreas,

welcome to the forums.

I used a Voltcraft (Conrad's house brand # 51 83 71) with 5V and 1000 mA and both the display and my face lighted up.
Is 1000 mA enough or should I use a 1500 mA

1000 mA is far from being enough, the SoundBridge will fry such a PSU in a very short time.

Depending on the SoundBridge model you need at least 1500 mA. 3000 mA have always been the recommendation of several experts in these forums. The Dehner SYS 1308-1505 Conrad sell (article number 510820 - 62) is a good PSU for the SoundBridge.

You will find more information about PSUs in this thread.

and does anyone have an explanation why these Soundbridges seem to be eating up AC adapters like crazy?

It's not the fault of the SoundBridges. Roku's PSUs have always been crap.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
agolgath
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 6:59 am

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:29 am

Thanks for the welcome, dupondt.
I've ordered two of them now.
Looking forward to having my two bridges working again.
2 x Soundbridge M1001
 
djeddieo
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Milton, MA
Contact:

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:35 am

might this be responsible for MY newest Roku problem: unit just powers off, as if plug pulled out? I typically unplug and re-plug, which sometimes works for a bit and problem repeats, sometimes works fine.
 
PaddyWillard
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:13 am

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:21 am

Just wanted to post a quick thanks. M1001 went from stuck with all lights on to not coming up at all, safe mode not working. Found another power supply that is redundant and BINGO!! all is good in the world once more.

Thanks fellow forum members.
 
cadbusca
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:07 am
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:57 pm

Thank you so much chaminanor!!! I tried my old iOmega Zip drive adapter and my Roku is back to life.
Cheers!!

João
 
djeddieo
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 9:47 am
Location: Milton, MA
Contact:

Re: M1001 Dead? Try Another AC Adapter First!

Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:36 am

New power supply from Roku ($9.99) fixed me up. Interestingly, the old power supply had no trouble keeping date/time display on, but failed intermittently (and often) when Roku was on.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest