Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
criicket
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:24 am

Why won't the ROKU work??????

Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:41 am

Apparently, I didn't do my homework before investing money into the Roku box. I was so excited to be able to watch unlimited movies on my pc that I decided to just buy the Roku box and hope that it worked with my setup. Well, what a mess...I have a Sprint Novatel Wireless Ovation U720 (Mobile Broadband USB Modem) set up on my desk top. ,average download speeds of 450 – 800 kbps, and average upload speeds of 300 – 400 kbps. Well, I can't even get the Roku to see that I have an internet connection on my pc. I bought a Wireless DLink Router in hopes to set up a wireless network, but I bought an ethernet "in" internet box. I don't have an ethernet cable that can go from my wireless card to the router, so once again it's not going to work. The internet modem is usb. As you can all see that I am by no means very computer saavy, so does anyone know how I can make this set up work? My computer chair & desk just isn't the best place to relax and watch a movie.
 
User avatar
jeffrok
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4329
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Contact:

Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:43 am

Hello,

Mobile broadband internet, especially at your typical download speeds, is too unreliable for a Roku box.. You want a connection that can regularly get 1-1.5Mbps. As far as any other technical issues, I can't help you.
Yeah, I got some Rokus.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koy2eg1ioZ8&list=HL1380998604&feature=mh_lolz
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:44 am

Are you getting 450-800kbps or KBps? When you download does it show 450-800 or does it show 45-80?
 
User avatar
KennyJ
Posts: 4051
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:50 am

philsoft wrote:
Are you getting 450-800kbps or KBps? When you download does it show 450-800 or does it show 45-80?


Wouldn't both be terrible speeds to trying to stream internet videos? :)
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:53 am

KennyJ wrote:
philsoft wrote:
Are you getting 450-800kbps or KBps? When you download does it show 450-800 or does it show 45-80?


Wouldn't both be terrible speeds to trying to stream internet videos? :)


Well, 800KBs is almost an 8Mb connection.
 
User avatar
KennyJ
Posts: 4051
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:55 am

philsoft wrote:
KennyJ wrote:
philsoft wrote:
Are you getting 450-800kbps or KBps? When you download does it show 450-800 or does it show 45-80?


Wouldn't both be terrible speeds to trying to stream internet videos? :)


Well, 800KBs is almost an 8Mb connection.


I thought 8000kbps was.
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:00 pm

KennyJ wrote:
philsoft wrote:
KennyJ wrote:
philsoft wrote:
Are you getting 450-800kbps or KBps? When you download does it show 450-800 or does it show 45-80?


Wouldn't both be terrible speeds to trying to stream internet videos? :)


Well, 800KBs is almost an 8Mb connection.


I thought 8000kbps was.


Kbps is kilobits per second
KBps is kilobytes per second
 
User avatar
KennyJ
Posts: 4051
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:18 am
Location: Lawndale, CA

Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:14 pm

philsoft wrote:
KennyJ wrote:
philsoft wrote:
KennyJ wrote:
philsoft wrote:
Are you getting 450-800kbps or KBps? When you download does it show 450-800 or does it show 45-80?


Wouldn't both be terrible speeds to trying to stream internet videos? :)


Well, 800KBs is almost an 8Mb connection.


I thought 8000kbps was.


Kbps is kilobits per second
KBps is kilobytes per second


I did not know that... I've always seen speed tests show either Mb or Kb -- so thanks for clarifying.
 
moviegeek65
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:16 pm

Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:25 pm

Those wireless cards are fine for browsing the internet but they won't work on a Roku, you need at least 3Mbps(3000Kbps).
Get a DSL or cable modem for your wireless router.
 
criicket
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:24 am

Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:49 am

[URL=http://www.speedtest.net][IMG]http://www.speedtest.net/result/707899367.png[/IMG][/URL]
 
criicket
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 11:24 am

Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:51 am

www.speedtest.net/result/707899367.png

copy and paste into address bar to see my horrible speeds.
You are all correct, now I know why Roku doesn't support my card. Thanks for all your help. Three years ago, I bought my wireless card from Sprint for $300. What a waste...now I have to toss it aside and get a phone line and dsl. Ugh...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests