Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
rtonade
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:31 pm

How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround syst

Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:18 pm

How can i connect all these components together using a HDMI switch?

TV - HDMI input x1

Roku HD - HDMI output x1

sourround - HDMI output X1

HDMI Switch - HDMI input X3, HDMI output X1

Thanks
 
RokuPatrick

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:20 pm

What is the Surround system, exactly? Any other devices, like a cable box, Xbox, or blu-ray player?
 
jcmolet
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:39 pm

rtonade wrote:
How can i connect all these components together using a HDMI switch?

TV - HDMI input x1

Roku HD - HDMI output x1

sourround - HDMI output X1

HDMI Switch - HDMI input X3, HDMI output X1

Thanks



Assuming the Roku HD is your only source device, you really don't need the HDMI switch. Your connections could be as follows:

Roku HD-->AV Receiver-->Television

If you have multiple source devices (e.g. BD player, gaming platform, etc.), your connections would be as follows:

PS3 (input 1)
Roku HD (input 2) -->HDMI Switch-->AV Receiver-->Television
BD Player (input 3)
 
jcmolet
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 3:52 pm

similar to this drawing, except your AV Receiver would sit between the HDMI Switch and television:

Image
 
rtonade
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:31 pm

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:20 pm

RokuPatrick wrote:
What is the Surround system, exactly? Any other devices, like a cable box, Xbox, or blu-ray player?


It is a panasonic SC-HT740 DVD home theater system.
 
philsoft
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 6:26 pm
Location: Midland, Michigan
Contact:

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 5:29 pm

rtonade wrote:
RokuPatrick wrote:
What is the Surround system, exactly? Any other devices, like a cable box, Xbox, or blu-ray player?


It is a panasonic SC-HT740 DVD home theater system.


I believe that system only accepts stereo input through the "aux" input, and I do not think it accepts ANY video input, so I don't think the switch will do you any good.
 
jcmolet
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:00 pm

Looking at the user manual for your product, it does not possess HDMI inputs or outputs. However, you could run your audio through the device:

1. Run RCA cables (red and white) from your Roku to the audio in on your Panasonic unit.

Roku audio output-->Panasonic unit audio input

2. Run an HDMI cable from your Roku to the HDMI input on your television.

Roku HDMI output-->Television HDMI input


When using the Roku, turn down the volume on your television and turn on your Panasonic unit for audio.
 
rtonade
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:31 pm

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:10 pm

jcmolet wrote:
Looking at the user manual for your product, it does not possess HDMI inputs or outputs. However, you could run your audio through the device:

1. Run RCA cables (red and white) from your Roku to the audio in on your Panasonic unit.

Roku audio output-->Panasonic unit audio input

2. Run an HDMI cable from your Roku to the HDMI input on your television.

Roku HDMI output-->Television HDMI input


When using the Roku, turn down the volume on your television and turn on your Panasonic unit for audio.


The panasonic does have an HDMI output..
 
jcmolet
Posts: 2154
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:26 pm

rtonade wrote:
jcmolet wrote:
Looking at the user manual for your product, it does not possess HDMI inputs or outputs. However, you could run your audio through the device:

1. Run RCA cables (red and white) from your Roku to the audio in on your Panasonic unit.

Roku audio output-->Panasonic unit audio input

2. Run an HDMI cable from your Roku to the HDMI input on your television.

Roku HDMI output-->Television HDMI input


When using the Roku, turn down the volume on your television and turn on your Panasonic unit for audio.


The panasonic does have an HDMI output..


The Panasonic web page has your model listed, but the first manual shows the SC-HT40, not SC-HT740. I did find the right manual and you are correct, there is a single HDMI out connection; which carries audio and video to your television. However, you do not have an HDMI in connection. Therefore, you cannot route your audio and video for the Roku through your Panasonic unit. However, if you want just the audio from your Roku to play through the Panasonic unit, you can do that. The guidance I gave above, will work for your situation.

If you already have an HDMI cable going from your Panasonic unit to your television for DVD playback, the setup gets kind of ugly. In short, you would place an HDMI switch between the Panasonic unit and your television. One input into the HDMI switch would be from your Panasonic unit, a second input into the HDMI switch would be from your Roku. The output from your HDMI switch would feed the single HDMI input on your television. So it would look like this overall.

Panasonic unit HDMI output-->HDMI switch input 1-->HDMI switch output-->Television
Roku HDMI output-->HDMI switch input 2-->HDMI switch output-->Television
Roku Audio output-->Panasonic unit Audio input

When watching a DVD on your Panasonic unit, you would choose 'DVD' as the source on the Panasonic unit, select input 1 on your HDMI switch and the HDMI selection on your television.

When watching your Roku, you would choose 'AUX' (or the appropriate title assigned to the audio input) as the source on the Panasonic unit, select input 2 on your HDMI switch and the HDMI selection on your television.
 
moviegeek65
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 1:16 pm

Re: How to use HDMI switch to connect roku, TV and Surround

Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:23 pm

I thought we answered the question in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=31315

To sum up: keep the speakers and get a new AVR with HDMI switching.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: barneypoo69, richeydog, user3162, vnazario and 2 guests