Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
SGTECH
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:59 am

Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:03 am

I'd like to know if there is a way of connecting ROKU to my sound system without having a PC or TV connected? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:10 am

There are a number of ways, but it depends on just what equipment you have. Need more information.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
stratcat96
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 7:22 pm
Location: Ice Planet Hoth
Contact:

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:25 am

if it's not connected to some sort of monitor or TV you won't be able to see anything like menus or navigation
 
SGTECH
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:59 am

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:43 am

I have a sound system in my home. I can turn on speakers in different rooms. Have the capabilities of adding an ipod and such. Is it true that I need a monitor?? Obviously I need help here, computers I can fix but this has me all thumbs.
 
hozedhead
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:49 am

Yes you have to have a monitor connected or you won't see which channel you're using. What are the makes and models of your TV and sound system and what Roku model do you have?
Roku HD N1000 Serial #20G984014682 Software V. 3.1 Build 1167
 
dividebyzer0
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Wichita Kansas

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:05 am

I'm plugging the line output of my Roku XR to the Line Input of the PC.
The PC Line Out goes to a stereo amp with two 400watt Speakers.

This means I don't have to listen to audio thru the cheesy speakers
built into my RCA TV
The audio input is also switched for my HDTV converter Box.
when I'm watching over the air TV programs.

Thats just one way to do it.
HD-XR model N1101 Firmware 3.1 Bld 1182
Linksys BEFSX41 <==> AT&T ADSL
Channel Master CM-7000 HDTV Tuner
27" RCA ColorTrak circa 1992. Scissors! ---8<-----
 
SGTECH
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:59 am

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:27 am

I'm using the Roku2 XD. Using Yamaha equipment, don't know the model numbers offhand as I am at work now. If I HAVE TO use a laptop, how do I hook it up?
 
hozedhead
Posts: 458
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:49 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:01 pm

You'd have to have some kind of video capture device installed in or connected to your computer. Depending on your sound system, you can connect HDMI for digital audio or composite for analog.
Roku HD N1000 Serial #20G984014682 Software V. 3.1 Build 1167
 
blue_94_trooper
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:08 pm

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:24 pm

Sounds like you really want a Soundbridge. I have one and I love it.

Unfortunately Roku pulled the plug on those 2 or 3 years ago.
SoundBridge M500
PhotoBridge HD1000 rev. B (retired)
Roku 2 XS (retired)
Roku XD (retired)
Roku 3 x2
 
SGTECH
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:59 am

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:49 pm

Great news. So basically, I have to connect my laptop to make it work. Ok, thanks for all of your input I appreciate it
 
agmark
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:29 am

Re: Connecting ROKU to Sound System

Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:49 pm

You just need a monitor or tv with a video IN RCA connector. Run the yellow RCA plug to a small tv and the white and red plugs will go to your stereo inputs. Using a small tv located at the Roku would be the easiest and best solution.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests