Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

Moderators: RokuShawnS, RokuKen, RokuRyan, RokuJamesL

 
hristoh2000
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:09 am

Roku and hotspots

Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:19 am

Why I can not use Roku with Iphone 5 hotspot or any smart phone hotspot?
The player "sees" the hotspot but does not connect to it. :(
 
Dick Drivel
Posts: 624
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:54 am
Location: Drivel Town

Re: Roku and hotspots

Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:10 am

Which country?
 
hristoh2000
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:09 am

Re: Roku and hotspots

Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:09 am

Dick Drivel wrote:
Which country?


USA :D
on AT&T
 
bandal
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: Roku and hotspots

Sun Jan 13, 2013 1:16 pm

Try to set a password to the Hotspot to see if that works. I connected mine overseas with a phone Hotspot with a password assigned and it worked.
DA
 
hristoh2000
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:09 am

Re: Roku and hotspots

Sun Jan 13, 2013 6:27 pm

[quote="bandal"]Try to set a password to the Hotspot to see if that works. I connected mine overseas with a phone Hotspot with a password assigned and it worked.
DA[/quote

I did try that - does not work.
 
User avatar
DBDukes
Posts: 841
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:57 pm
Location: Jesup, GA
Contact:

Re: Roku and hotspots

Sun Jan 13, 2013 7:47 pm

FWIW, I just tried turning on Hotspot on iPhone 4 and iPhone 5 models, running under Verizon. Roku would usually not recognize them; that is, neither network was shown under Settings > Network > Wireless. A rescan would often show the iPhone 5 network briefly, but the wireless screen would refresh within a second, and the iPHone Hotspot would no longer show. The iPhone 4 Hotspot would sometimes show, and would often remain showing longer than the iPhone 5 Hotspot.

Odd, he said.
DBDukes
http://TelevisionMyWay.com
-------------------------------------------------
Roku 3 (model 4200)
Roku 2 XS (model 3100)
 
magnetic
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: Roku and hotspots

Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:09 am

I have found the Roku wifi to act funy sometimes. Unfortunately the Roku is not Wifi Certified but still gets the job done in most instances. Every now and then some issues like this pop up. The one that bugs be the most is the Roku does not combine APs with the same SSID together.
 
LiL Arturo
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:13 am

Re: Roku and hotspots

Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:21 am

I've Noticed that a Hotspot with a Roku device is sometimes a hit and miss with a hotspot, sometimes it will connect with no problems, sometimes it will connect and give out an error, or not see the network and not connect at all.

Usually Encounter error code 009 or 011 with some 4g hotspots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bvd1022, rjdriver and 2 guests