Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
DaveK64
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:21 am

Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:59 am

Would be appreciated if the tech team (or anyone who knows the issue) could advise why the HBO go app is not working on Roku.

It loads the HBO site, lets you select the show, loads the HBO opening ad - plus shows the ratings, but then pauses and will NOT load any show selected.

It has been uninstalled and reinstalled, rebooted and all to no avail... it will not work.

It is a Verizon Acc which is supported - it has been like this for over 2 days.

Here is the error message... thx for help.

Image
 
MidgardDragon
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:18 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 3:33 am

Have you tried signing on through HBO Go on the web and seeing if videos play there?
 
DaveK64
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:21 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:16 am

Yes, it works perfectly via PC and MAC.

It absolutely will not play on Roku.

This is really frustrating..
 
User avatar
Basil
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4046
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Savannah, GA
Contact:

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:29 am

While I don't have HBO, one of the kids has service, and the channel on her Roku. It played an episode of True Blood without issue this morning. So, either the issue has cleared up, or it's localized to your area (or your Roku).

Perhaps removing the channel and reinstalling might help.
Basil
http://www.imao.us/
Roku 3, Roku 2, Roku 2 XD, Roku Stick (3600)
Apple TV (4th gen), TiVo, Chromecast

Previous:
Roku Stick (3500), Roku 1, Roku 2 XS, Roku LT(2400), Roku XDS, Roku XD (2050)
Apple TV (2nd, 3rd gen), FireTV, FireTV Stick
 
DaveK64
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:21 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:20 am

Still not working on Roku 3 - and other users reporting the same on other forums.

As I said in my first post, uninstalling and rebooting hasnt helped.

Thanks..
 
User avatar
RickRansom
Posts: 2157
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: PH

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:31 am

If you do a search on HBO Go on these boards, you'd find that some of the issues were resolved either after [1]changing the dns on their router to GoogleDNS or Open DNS or [2]making sure that their connection is not double NAT'd. Then again, if the HBO Go channel is telling you that they're working on it then try to wait it out for a day or two.
Retired
- Now works at Riot Games
 
User avatar
kc8pql
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9046
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 3:54 pm
Location: US

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:16 am

DaveK64 wrote:
Image

This message comes from HBO, so they know they have a problem.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
No, I don't work for Roku.
Netflix Player N1000X, XDS 2100X (premature death by lightning)
Roku2 XD 3050X, Roku2 XS 3100R, Roku2 4210R
 
Frankp999
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:24 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:52 am

I have no problems with HBO Go on my Roku 2 or my Roku 3. Works just fine - watched "The Newsroom" last night
 
DaveK64
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:21 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:07 am

Do you mind telling who is your provider? Mine is Verizon.. and it doesn't work.

Thx
 
mikebdoss
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4542
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:52 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:34 am

Just tested a movie, no problems. I have Time Warner cable, but use my mom's Uverse login to test HBO Go.
 
User avatar
Basil
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 4046
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:26 am
Location: Savannah, GA
Contact:

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:39 am

DaveK64 wrote:
Do you mind telling who is your provider? Mine is Verizon.. and it doesn't work.

Thx

She uses Dish Network. You may be onto something about it being provider-authentication related.
Basil
http://www.imao.us/
Roku 3, Roku 2, Roku 2 XD, Roku Stick (3600)
Apple TV (4th gen), TiVo, Chromecast

Previous:
Roku Stick (3500), Roku 1, Roku 2 XS, Roku LT(2400), Roku XDS, Roku XD (2050)
Apple TV (2nd, 3rd gen), FireTV, FireTV Stick
 
AeroR1
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:38 pm

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:27 am

worked fine for me last night, the night before and the night before that and i use Verizon.
 
DaveK64
Topic Author
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:21 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:57 pm

AeroR1 wrote:
worked fine for me last night, the night before and the night before that and i use Verizon.


Ok, thanks everyone for the reports/updates.
It's got me stumped, it defo won't work on Roku but yet works on every other device?
And the message clearly says "we are working on the problem" (who ever 'we' is?)... But yet the person above says it works perfect for them on Roku with Verizon..

Crazy!!
 
Frankp999
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:24 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:03 pm

Sounds like an authentication issue thru whoever provides you with HBO on the cable TV system. Can you remove the channel and re-add it to force another login with your cable provider info?
 
trekkeriii
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 1945
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:10 am

Re: Issue: Roku 3 & HBO go

Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:52 pm

The OP user mentions he's in Australia, that might be the issue.
http://trekkeriii.com/Roku_PHP_list.php
Router - ASUS RT-AC68U
ISP - TWC - 50 Mbps/5 Mbps
Net+ Cert

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Buzzsaw, bwaldron, Deviancy and 2 guests