Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
abizar_vakharia@dell.com
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 9:11 pm

Random-ize Slideshow

Thu Mar 09, 2006 6:47 pm

Is there a setting somewhere that will allow me to randomize the slide show?

Abizar

Photobridge 1000 (Firmware 2.36)
 
swingnstar
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:06 am
Location: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

Sat Mar 11, 2006 3:18 pm

I don't believe this is possible. I've seen several requests for this feature, but no solutions offered.
 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Random-ize Slideshow

Sat Mar 11, 2006 4:13 pm

abizar_vakharia@dell.com wrote:
Is there a setting somewhere that will allow me to randomize the slide show?

Abizar

Photobridge 1000 (Firmware 2.36)

There's no built-in way to do it, but this post might help you accomplish what you're looking for: http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5142

TheEndless
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
abizar_vakharia@dell.com
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 9:11 pm

Sun Mar 12, 2006 2:40 pm

There's no built-in way to do it, but this post might help you accomplish what you're looking for: http://www.rokulabs.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=5142


Cool, I think the code there will accomplish exactly what I want. Now for the newbie question.

How do I use the script? I looked around for a tutorial but couldn't find a description of how to use it.

Could you please point me in the right direction [/quote]
 
leenuxg33k
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 7:09 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Sun Mar 12, 2006 5:26 pm

I wrote that script originally. The important parts of the script are these lines:

JPEGPATH=/mnt/smb/nfs/nas1/Photoshow
#after these files are created, you can edit them to remove dirs
JPEGDIRS=/mnt/smb/nfs/nas1/Photoshow/jpegdirs.txt
JPEGLIST=/mnt/smb/nfs/nas1/Photoshow/jpeglist.txt


You will need to edit these paths to match where your pictures are mounted on your roku. You will need write access to these directories as well.

If you still can't get it to work then let me know. I might look into this again soon. I think there might be some better ways to switch directories.
 
abizar_vakharia@dell.com
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 9:11 pm

Fri Mar 17, 2006 2:47 pm

You will need to edit these paths to match where your pictures are mounted on your roku.


Ah hah, so if the images are on a share drive on a Windows XP machine, should I simply use UNC as a path?

Again, thanks for the helping with the pesky questions I'm not technical enough to know how to use the script. For example are you assuming that I telnet to the Roku?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests