Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

Cgriell
Topic Author

Java, Opera, SoundBridge M1001

Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:25 am

Hi! I am an absolute newbie and I ran in quite a lot of troubles, and I was able to solve them with the help of this forum, so, let me make a summary of the problems I got to have my SoundBridge M1001 up and running and integrated.

Although I am a Mac User, it is easier to find help in the Windows world, so I used a brand new PC with Windows 8 (Beurkkkk), the last Java Update (V7.65), and Opera (V24.0). I connected the M1001 to my LAN through a cable (I use WPA2 security in my WiFi)

1.) Unable to find my device in Rokuradio. Before starting the search a window appear with the message that due to security reasons the program was blocked.

solution: go the the Java Security Window, and add http://rokuradio.com to the authorized sites (and do not forget to write http:// )

2.) Then it found my device but it was assigned to a different UniqueID. That's weird because I bought myself the set as new. Well, maybe someone had tested it before selling it to me. I wrote a question to Roku, as instructed, and get no answer. So, I perused this forum, and I found what must be done

solution: if you are under Windows 8 you must
a.) go to Control Panel>Programs>Windows features (or something similar) and check Telnet (it is deactivated by default). Then Restart windows
b.) locate the IP address of your device. If you have reached this point, I am sure that you now how to. Let me call it xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
c.) go to command (yes, we are now on a MSDOS emulator) and write Telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 4444
you should get something like
Soundbridge >
write rcp
nothing (or maybe something, in my case roku ready) appears
write GetUniqueId (exactly spelled like this) and you will get something like a MAC number xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (six groups of two hex numbers). This is not the MAC number !!! but by default the set Id is the same than the MAC)