Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
User avatar
TheEndless
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 9231
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:15 am
Location: US
Contact:

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:56 am

juantwc wrote:
1 - It seems that is not possible to subclass a component. If you have a base set of functions, for example, to manage UI element focus, It is a bit counter productive to have to copy and paste the same code in each component. Is there any way to circumvent this ?

You could put the utility code in a separate file and use the "uri" attribute of the <script> element instead of copying and pasting the code.
My Channels: http://roku.permanence.com - Twitter: @TheEndlessDev
Instant Watch Browser (NetflixIWB), Aquarium Screensaver (AQUARIUM), Clever Clocks Screensaver (CLEVERCLOCKS), iTunes Podcasts (ITPC), My Channels (MYCHANNELS)
 
retrotom
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:38 am

Is it possible to hide the "Retrieving" (loading) text when using the Video node? When using the Video node in a picture-in-picture mode, the loading text is rendered on top of my UI.
 
Skrzypu
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:24 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Mar 09, 2016 9:21 am

Hi

I found some defects in Scene Graph Components.
1. In ScrollableText after scroll down and changing text scroll is not moving to position 0. Text is still scrolled. I know I can recreate this node to solve that. I'm not sure what have better perfomance.
2. When RowList is using component instead simple then focus is showing to element with index 1 instead of 0. Setting focusXOffset is fixing that

I also have some suggestions in components that I miss a lot:
1. Poster have sometimes problem with loading images. Especially after screensaver is hiding. No message is showing can be read, only state.
2. In ScrollableText I miss functionality to scroll text from code. It is required when we have list in bottom of ScrollableText and we want switch focus using Up/Down keys.
3. We can't turn off handling keys for Roku predefined nodes . It changes sometimes our vision of controling app, or prevents some features
4. We can't provide to ObserveField function a flag: alwaysNotify. It can be done only from interfaces.

I home my finding and suggestions will help you with providing new version of SceneGraph.
Could you please write comments about my suggestions or provide a way to workaround them?
 
retrotom
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:35 am

It would be helpful if ifSGNodeChildren had a clear method. Because it doesn't, I've been implementing code like this in certain situations related to dynamic content and recycled views.

   while m.episodeListings.getChildCount() > 0
      m.episodeListings.removeChildIndex(0)
   end while
 
juantwc
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:23 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:03 am

TheEndless wrote:
juantwc wrote:
1 - It seems that is not possible to subclass a component. If you have a base set of functions, for example, to manage UI element focus, It is a bit counter productive to have to copy and paste the same code in each component. Is there any way to circumvent this ?

You could put the utility code in a separate file and use the "uri" attribute of the <script> element instead of copying and pasting the code.


Many thanks!
 
edskitter
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 8:15 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Mar 16, 2016 8:45 am

retrotom wrote:
Is it possible to hide the "Retrieving" (loading) text when using the Video node? When using the Video node in a picture-in-picture mode, the loading text is rendered on top of my UI.


https://sdkdocs.roku.com/display/sdkdoc ... +Meta-Data

Set the VideoDisableUI to true to disable the default video node overlay.
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Mar 17, 2016 2:28 pm

The Scene Graph application will scale the design elements and the graphical images for the actual supported resolution, but you can achieve the best appearance for all supported resolutions if you provide both resolutions of graphical images.


I wrote to manifest-file
ui_resolutions=FHD

and set all coordinates as if I had Roku-device with FullHD, and I got wrong layout, nothing was scaled to my 720p on roku stick. It doesn't work in both way.
I have set translations, widths and heights for 720p and "ui_resolutions=FHD,HD", then put it to roku 4 with FHD, and it wasn't scaled, I know it because
print CreateObject("roDeviceInfo").GetDisplayMode()

always prints "720p", whatever I set in manifest.

what can I do to fix it? I am on 7.1 firmware.
 
User avatar
dreamer2057
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:28 am
Contact:

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:56 am

sudo97 wrote:
I am on 7.1 firmware.

How to get 7.1 firmware? My device still has 7.0 firmware and it think that 7.0 is the latest.
Sincerely, Sergey Shoshin, software developer.
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:49 am

Please send a private message to RokuShawnS with the subject “beta scene graph serial number” and a body containing serial numbers you’d like to receive the beta firmware.


dreamer2057, did you do this?
 
MediaDev
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:16 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Sat Mar 26, 2016 5:59 am

Hi,
Using Scene Graph I am trying to achieve a Rowlist which contains text elements of different length . When an item is focused, I want to show a rectangle highlight on top and bottom of the text item. The highlight rectangle width has to be the same as the text element. I thought of showing/hiding rectangles dynamically with the same size as text but I don't see an option to dynamically find the width of each rowlist text item. Prior to SDK 2.0 I could use the font size calculations but this doesn't seem possible now. Usage of transparent focusBitmapUri also doesn't give correct highlight. What options do I have?

Regards
Media Dev
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Mar 29, 2016 1:11 pm

MediaDev, all I can say is you should make a good 9-patch file for your focusBitmap
 
juantwc
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:23 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Apr 05, 2016 4:01 am

I have a question regarding backwards compatibility for Roku Scene Graph Components:

* What happens if a Roku box running firmware < 7 opens a channel with Roku Scene Graph Components?
* If the app contains a hybrid UI , half regular components and half Scene Graph Components, will the regular components work?
* What is the recommended policy to support older devices when using Roku Scene Graph Components?
* Is there a way to downgrade when you are at firmware 7 to test this? i have found the "secret screen"(http://streamfree.tv/roku/roku-secret-screens/) but i dont see a way to downgrade to 6
 
renojim
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3490
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:35 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:16 am

juantwc wrote:
I have a question regarding backwards compatibility for Roku Scene Graph Components:

* What happens if a Roku box running firmware < 7 opens a channel with Roku Scene Graph Components?

That shouldn't be possible unless you sideload the channel or don't set the minimum firmware version properly, so the rest of your questions are moot. Also, since firmware updates are forced upon users, there shouldn't be any boxes out there with < v7.0 other than legacy devices that run v3.1.

-JT
 
User avatar
Komag
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:42 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Apr 05, 2016 5:04 pm

Roku TVs lagged behind a long time in firmware, so not all updates are created equal (or something like that)
 
MediaDev
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 8:16 pm

Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Apr 05, 2016 10:17 pm

Hi,

Request help in the below two items while using scene graph components.

1. Do we have any option to use filesystem in scene graph based apps? Earlier we could use roFlesystem, prefetch images and use those URLs to populate grids without delay.
Now while using postergrid, if there is delay in loading images, the screen looks blank.

2. We are setting the loading image using loadingBitmapUri in postergrid . Once we have the image URL, we are updating the poster url . From there on, the grid item is blank till the image fetch is complete. My requirement is to show the loading image until the image is loaded, but this isn't happening.

Regards
Media Dev

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests