Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Yuriy_OM
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Fri Sep 25, 2015 1:43 pm

Yuriy_OM wrote:
Hi, I have couple more questions:

1. - Can an application built with Scene Graph be used on 6.2 software if it is packaged/published via official roku channel? Or roku software absolutely needs to be 7.0 or higher?

2. - How can I explore NDK option. Whom do I contact to get the conversation started?

Thanks!


Gents, anyone could help me answer my questions? I would really like to know. Thanks
 
Emerica
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 3:27 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:59 pm

RokuShawnS wrote:
Emerica wrote:
I've sent a PM with some serials and haven't been updated either, assuming maybe just the maintenance, but figured I'd double check in case my PM was missed.


I haven't received a PM from "Emerica." Please re-send it.

C. Shawn Smith



Should have some serials in your inbox. :)
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Sep 28, 2015 2:24 pm

Yuriy_OM wrote:
Gents, anyone could help me answer my questions? I would really like to know. Thanks
1. - Can an application built with Scene Graph be used on 6.2 software if it is packaged/published via official roku channel? Or roku software absolutely needs to be 7.0 or higher?
No - the "executor" for scinical graphs will come with fw 7, so such channel will install/run only on players with 7-or-later firmware. Not to worry though, because (a) such channel won't be installable on older firmwares (reviewers will double-check on that) and (b) RokuCo has indicated earlier fw7 will be rolled out to all player models# > 2222. and (c) Firmware upgrade is not an opt-in process, it gets shoved automatically to everyone, so fw 6 won't exist in the wild for a much longer.
(disclaimer: this is my personal understanding based on all things considered and albeit i cannot speak with 100% certainty, i am pretty <censored> sure)

2. - How can I explore NDK option. Whom do I contact to get the conversation started?
From a possibly outdated page,
FAQ wrote:
... The Roku NDK allows a game developer to port their existing game to Roku, rather than develop the game in Brightscript. The NDK is not yet public so please contact us at partners@roku.com if you are interested.
 
roberto14
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:28 am

I am building a new channel using this new Scene Graph in order to take advantage of its new features.. but I just realised that global scope is not the same for the component and channel, GetGlobalAA() differs in the component.

Well, I can deal with that but the libraries.. for example, to load a library (generalUtils.brs, analytics.brs, ...) it's required to insert <script> tag in every xml component. Is there an easier way to do it? Or to access the other scope?

Thanks.
Roberto J.
 
filipkoutsky
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Sep 30, 2015 3:09 am

Hi, I have sent a two PM to RokuShawnS with serial of roku 1 and 3, but in both cases I haven´t got an update.

Can you send me an update?

Thanks Filip
 
Emerica
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 3:27 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:46 pm

filipkoutsky wrote:
Hi, I have sent a two PM to RokuShawnS with serial of roku 1 and 3, but in both cases I haven´t got an update.

Can you send me an update?

Thanks Filip




Have patients, same deal here, probably just busy :)
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Sep 30, 2015 4:41 pm

Emerica wrote:
Have patients, same deal here, probably just busy :)
"Have patients, will heal." Image

It appears they use some really - and i mean really REALLY - clumsy system of provisioning firmware/authorizations. In my case, 3 weeks + 6 requests @RokuKevin and ... <crickets> still nothing at my end of the rope Image. (Admittedly my wait is not for fw7-beta - but i think uses the same squeaky machinery behind it.)
 
User avatar
RokuShawnS
Roku Engineering
Posts: 6625
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:21 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Sep 30, 2015 11:22 pm

Emerica, your info was sent this afternoon ... you should be able to "Check for Update" for the new firmware.

For everyone else, please send me the serial numbers via PM or via email to ssmith@roku.com with the Subject Beta Scene Graph.

I usually submit the serials in bulk by mid-afternoon the following day, if not right away. I've been a bit under the weather this week, so I'm a little slower than I was in previous weeks.

C. Shawn Smith
C. Shawn Smith
Community Liaison

------------
The Cosmos is all that is, and all that was, and ever will be. -- Carl Sagan
 
filipkoutsky
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:57 am

Hi I sent it with this subject, but maybe it somwhere droped out.
I have two more question. Is it possible to go back to FW 6.2? I want only test this components, but then I need compatible FW with all normal users (not developers). Do you know when the new FW is availible for normal users?

Thanks for answers Filip
 
jul10
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 5:41 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:43 am

Hi,
Looking at the documentation, the example shown in the PosterGrid node class doesn't seem to be complete/working. Could you provide a functioning example of this grid?

Thanks,
Julio A.
 
User avatar
Oak-Beard
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:13 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:40 am

roberto14 wrote:
I just realised that global scope is not the same for the component and channel, GetGlobalAA() differs in the component.
Well, I can deal with that but the libraries.. for example, to load a library (generalUtils.brs, analytics.brs, ...) it's required to insert <script> tag in every xml component. Is there an easier way to do it? Or to access the other scope?
.

I talked with a Roku engineer about this a couple weeks ago. He confirmed there are 2 threads – 1 for “the old way” and one for the scene graphs. To implement inter-thread communications and access the other threads scope, he said to use a data field observer. As a test-case I set up an observer to monitor the ‘control’ attribute of an Animation node that gets started when the user presses the OK button. I create an observer for the field in both the main thread and the scene-graph thread. The code in Main.brs:
scene = screen.CreateScene("sgTest")
m.animn = scene.findNode("playingAnimation")
print("animn.control="+m.animn.control)
m.animn.ObserveField("control", "changedSGraph")

and the code in the component XML’s init() function:
m.animn = m.top.findNode("playingAnimation")
print("animn.control="+m.animn.control)
m.animn.ObserveField("control", "changedSGraph")

When the animation is started, the only observer function triggered is the one in the scene-graph thread. While trying to figure out what is happening, I came across the following in the SDK documentation:

The callback function you write to handle the node field change event must be included in the component <script> element, and manipulate declared objects within the component.


So I’m thinking this is why the main thread’s observer is not invoked, even though I can access the animation’s control field from that thread (which I confirmed via the use of the debugger).
 
afreeman
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:22 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:51 am

Is this program still open to beta developers or closed?

Thanks

-Andrei
 
sudo97
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:43 am

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:45 am

Hello, I've got problems. I'm using EPGGrid for my application and I need to add program for my channels, each program requires PLAYSTART in time data-type. How should it look? Could it be DateTime as "2015-09-30 00:00:00" or smth different?
 
sjb64
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:13 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:27 pm

Beginner SceneGraph question...

A message I posted yesterday was answered by TheEndless (regarding threading) and he pointed me to look at the SceneGraph system, which I had only glimpsed at till now. It reminds me of the WPF and old Silverlight methods of XML (XAML in these systems) to define your interface, and then associated code to manipulate it. Being a very old school programmer, and a bit set in my ways, I have never been comfortable with this paradigm. So, I would rather keep control in Brightscript, instantiate and nest my own nodes, and avoid the XML approach altogether. From what I'm seeing in the docs this is entirely possible, even if rather sparsely documented.

My question is this: barring a debate on why I don't just get on board with newer methods, is there any driving reason (or requirement) to use the XML approach, things I won't be able to do without it, or things that would make doing it in code a nightmare or dead end?
FlixRaider channel
 
User avatar
RokuJoel
Posts: 1758
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:22 pm

Re: Beta Scene Graph Components

Thu Oct 22, 2015 11:18 am

sjb64 wrote:
My question is this: barring a debate on why I don't just get on board with newer methods, is there any driving reason (or requirement) to use the XML approach, things I won't be able to do without it, or things that would make doing it in code a nightmare or dead end?


Yes, you can do that however, you lose the advantage of multi-threading, so you can expect, if your code is at all complex, for it to exhibit substandard performance as various things will block for screen refresh, which may slow down your code execution significantly.

- Joel

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests