Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Sun Oct 23, 2016 8:13 pm

Is there a way I can install my channel I created to my Roku or make a pkg file without using my Roku? Every time I try to upload my channel to my Roku I get a time out and it won't go any further.
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:15 pm

Alright I tried using a Makefile and app.mk I had to modify just to get it to work but I'm running into ERROR: Device returned HTTP 401 which I'm not sure why. Both files were found here: https://github.com/rokudev/hello-world
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
quartern
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:56 pm

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Mon Oct 24, 2016 9:18 pm

I think the answer is no (i.e. nothing supported) - you cant make a PACKAGED app (that you would be able to load to the app store, or run as anything that is not running as the dev channel).  By putting everything for packaging on the target Roku does not need to make cross-compilers etc and also require you to sign the programs on their hardware (some level of security thru obscurity?).

For your issue -
  • Did you enable developer functionality on that Roku device?
  • Do you know the IP address for the Roku device?
  • Are you able to connect to the web interface  on the roku device?
  • where do you set the IP address during make?  (The git repo you point to does not have a makefile BTW)
Private apps: IsraTV (replaces IsraIBA, IsraNews2, IsraI24, Isra10, Isra20)
Users - to report issues with the app (not content of streams please) send me a tweet - @quartern_roku and follow (so we can DM)
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:58 am

Yes I enabled developer mode, yes I know the ip, yes the Roku can access the internet and what do you mean
where do you set the IP address during make?

? Also that git repo did have it the creator of hello-world removed it yesterday.
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:40 am

So I tried uploading my zip and installing again now I run into
Install Failure: No manifest. Invalid package.
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
User avatar
squirreltown
Posts: 870
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:20 pm

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:58 am

Technologx wrote:
So I tried uploading my zip and installing again now I run into
Install Failure: No manifest. Invalid package.


Select the individual parts - the source folder, the images folder, manifest etc. and zip that, not the enclosing folder those things are in.
Kinetics Screensavers
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:14 am

That's what I tried, I'm trying again but it's been loading for over an hr now.
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 12:25 pm

Technologx wrote:
? Also that git repo did have it the creator of hello-world removed it yesterday.

It seems likely that said creator had exposed a makefile internal to the Co and after reading your thread, one of the Roku engineers that read the forum has slapped him into compliance ;-)

It's easy to write your own build script, like in under dozen lines. What platform are you on, to boot?
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:04 pm

TCL TV
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:45 pm

I'm have errors with a couple of my XML files and I have no idea how to fix them.
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:19 pm

Technologx wrote:
TCL TV
sorry, i guess i should have asked: Windows or Mac?

Technologx wrote:
I'm have errors with a couple of my XML files and I have no idea how to fix them.
that's a whole new  subject.
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:35 pm

I'm using a Mac
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
EnTerr
** Valued Community Member **
Posts: 3834
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:41 am

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:15 am

This should do it:
  1. create text file named "run" in the project top directory with this:
    #!/bin/bash
    #ROKU_DEV_TARGET=192.168.1.25   # Roku 2XS
    ROKU_DEV_TARGET=192.168.1.28   # put YOUR roku IP here

    # wake up/interrupt Roku - workaround for fw5.4 deadly bug
    curl -sS -d '' http://$ROKU_DEV_TARGET:8060/keypress/Home
    curl -sS -d '' http://$ROKU_DEV_TARGET:8060/keypress/Home

    # build. zip _must_ change for Roku to accept re-deploy (stupid Roku!)
    cd -- "$(dirname "$0")"
    touch timestamp
    zip -FS -9 -r bundle * -x run.sh extras

    # deploy
    curl -f -sS --user rokudev:nuisance --anyauth -F "mysubmit=Install" -F "archive=@bundle.zip" -F "passwd=" http://$ROKU_DEV_TARGET/plugin_install  \
    | python -c 'import sys, re; print "\n".join(re.findall("<font color=\"red\">(.*?)</font>", sys.stdin.read(), re.DOTALL))'

  2. Put your correct IP and rokudev password there (or use environment vars instead, whatever)
  3. "chmod +x run" from Terminal, so it's executable
  4. Now double-clicking on this in Finder or running from Terminal will create bundle.zip and upload it to the player.

PS. renamed from "run.sh to "run" and added `cd -- "$(dirname "$0")"` so it will work correct with double-click from Finder. See http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5125907/how-to-run-a-shell-script-in-os-x-by-double-clicking/29710607#29710607 for the why.
PPS. re-using same file for multiple projects as symlink or alias won't do since Finder resolves to the original location. Use hard link instead.
Last edited by EnTerr on Wed Oct 26, 2016 3:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:06 am

Thank you I'm completely new to this we just recently got a TCL Roku TV and I figured I'd try to make a news feed channel for my forum.
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com
 
User avatar
Technologx
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 10:36 pm
Contact:

Re: How to create a pkg without using the Roku?

Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:19 am

EnTerr wrote:
This should do it - create "run.sh" file in the project top directory and use that. Season to taste:
#!/bin/bash
ROKU_DEV_TARGET=192.168.1.28   # Roku 3

# wake up/interrupt Roku - workaround for fw5.4 deadly bug
curl -sS -d '' http://$ROKU_DEV_TARGET:8060/keypress/Home
curl -sS -d '' http://$ROKU_DEV_TARGET:8060/keypress/Home

# build. zip _must_ change for Roku to accept re-deploy (stupid Roku!)
touch timestamp
zip -FS -9 -r bundle * -x run.sh extras

# deploy
curl -f -sS --user rokudev:nuisance --anyauth -F "mysubmit=Install" -F "archive=@bundle.zip" -F "passwd=" http://$ROKU_DEV_TARGET/plugin_install  \
| python -c 'import sys, re; print "\n".join(re.findall("<font color=\"red\">(.*?)</font>", sys.stdin.read(), re.DOTALL))'


How exactly do I use this?
Technologx - Where we make things happen!
https://technologx.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests