Your Digital Media Has Never Looked So Good

 
Force Legato
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:24 am

How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:49 pm

Hi.

Thought I'd try and play music files from my phone (Galaxy Alpha Android 5.0.2) on my Soundbridge M1000 using the MediaMonkey app. It gives me the option to cast to the M1000 but when I select that option nothing happens on my M1000.

Be grateful on any advice on how to successfully achieve this or any other app that can do the same!

Cheers.
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:33 pm

Hi Force Legato,

casting from MediaMonkey for Android to my SoundBridge M1001 works fine. Which firmware version is running on your M1000?

You might want to try 2Player, its code has been optimised to be as compatible as possible with the SoundBridges.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
Force Legato
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:24 am

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:06 pm

Hi dupondt

Thanks for your response.

The software is Version 3.0.44 and no further upgrades are available.

Is that incompatible with Mediamonkey?

If so perhaps I'll give 2player a go then.

Regards.
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:17 am

Force Legato wrote:
The software is Version 3.0.44 and no further upgrades are available.

That's the latest and final official software and it should work with MediaMonkey. I haven't yet tested casting to my M1000, though, but will do so if and when I find the PSU.

In the meantime you might want to also ask for help on the MediaMonkey forum.

To check whether the issue is caused by the SoundBridge or MediaMonkey you can try to cast to your M1000 with the free test version of 2Player.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
Force Legato
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:24 am

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:12 am

Thanks for suggesting the 2Player app.

It appears to be the same issue, the app detects my M1000 and attempts to play to it but my M1000 remains unaware of the app, not showing it on it's display screen as it would with MediaMonkey from my pc, nothing new appearing or happening. Is there anything I should be doing with the settings on the M1000? 

Many thanks for your help.
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:21 am

Force Legato,

I found a suitable PSU so I can tell you that casting to my M1000 works fine with both MediaMonkey for Android and 2Player.

It's my understanding that you can cast to your M1000 from your PC (with MediaMonkey for Windows), but not from your phone. If this is correct then depending on your network setup this might be a router or access point issue.

Please give the following information:

a) the make and model of your router/access point,
b) the network connection type of your PC (wired or wireless),
c) the network connection type of your M1000 (wired or wireless),
d) the network connection type of your phone (WiFi or mobile broadband).

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
Force Legato
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:24 am

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Sat Nov 19, 2016 4:17 pm

Hi dupondt.

Yes that's all correct (MediaMonlkey with Windows 10 on PC).

a) This is my modem http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2015/01/isp-plusnet-launch-faster-hub-zero-2704n-broadband-router-full-specs.html
b) PC is wireless connection to modem
c) M1000 is wired connection to modem
d) phone is wifi connection to modem

Regards

Force Legato
 
dupondt
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:46 am
Location: Germany, European Union

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:34 am

Hi Force Legato,

I'm afraid that I'm a bit at a loss in your case. As your WiFi-connected PC can cast to the wired M1000 it doesn't seem to be a router issue. Some routers don't allow multimedia packets to travel from wired clients to WiFi clients and vice versa but that's obviously not the case with your router. Unfortunately I couldn't find a user guide for that Plusnet device.

However, to rule out that something in your router's setup affects casting to your M1000 you might want to check if there are options named WMM, IGMP and/or Multicast or UPnP. WMM has to be disabled and IGMP/Multicast must be enabled. It might also help to enable UPnP.

Please also make sure that there's no security software (antivirus, firewall, etc.) active on your phone as that might also cause problems.

Greetings
dupondt
SoundBridge M1001 and M1000 • Clint L1 (retired) • DNT IP-dio (retired)
Google Chromecast • Amazon Fire TV • Amazon Echo and Echo Dot
 
Force Legato
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 2:24 am

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:58 am

Hi dupondt.

I think I'll take your last response and get on the Plusnet helpline and see if they can direct me through how to take those actions (that'll bamboozle them for a bit I'm sure).

Many thanks for your help and advice!

Force Legato
 
wtracy1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 6:23 am

Re: How do I cast MediaMonkey from Android.

Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:38 pm

Hello! Wondering if you can use either of these to cast an internet streaming service, e.g. spotify, pandora, tunein, that you play on your phone to the Soundbridge?
Thanks,
Walt

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests